Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
66
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2013
I thought the book might be too narrow in just talking about battle strategies, but found it very comprehensive in showing how it all came about, and also brought the characters to life. It showed the inevitability of war, when a king is incapable and surrounds himself with favourites. Lives torn apart on both sides. It showed how great lords could go from strength to complete destitution. Very sad and a good lesson in group dynamics to this day!

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the middle ages, and those who want to read and understand the human side of these horrific events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
This was a very well written book and I liked the fact that the author took the time to explain the background to the battle, which I always think helps a reader to better understand the actual event. George Goodwin has put together a clear account which was very easy to read.

There is very little to criticise in this book, though I think I would have liked just a little more about the battle. However, this is a small criticism and should not put anyone off reading this very excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
I couldn't stop reading this! It was clearly set out and the dramatis peronae clearly identified, which is something that I find difficult to follow in many descriptions of this period of history. As I bought the Kindle edition the family trees were almost illegible but that did not reduce my enjoyment of the book. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this period. I hope there is a similar one for the next period in the Wars of the Roses!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Bought this book for my husband at his request, though he has a Kindle and seldom wants books these days. However, the book was seized with great glee on arrival, husband's head never came out of it until he finished reading at which point he declared the book well written, graphic, almost painful on some of the descriptions and one of the best accounts of this particular battle he has ever seen. Two daughters have since read it too and came to the same conclusion. Definitely a must for anyone interested in this particular period in history.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
I have read many books on this subject but George Goodwins work really illuminated the political and personal reasons for this tragic loss of Englishmen on an English field. Easy ad it would be we must not forget the burgundy, French and Welsch participants

Brilliant book, downloading Flodden
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Finally I understand what the War of The Roses was all about. Only spoiled by Mr Goodwin's comment towards end that the "Princes in the Tower" were murdered on the instructions of Richard III, much more likely to have been Henry VII.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
You wouldn't want to be there if you were on the losing side. Brutal and thorough depiction of one of the worst battles on English soil. Unlike some historical treaties this is a very vivid and compelling read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Had a hard back copy of this book as a gift so I'm also sending this copy also as a gift.
An excellent book regarding the battle of Towton and very well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
A well researched book. The author does well in his attempts to tell the story of the Towton campaign in as unbiased a way as possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Not bad but far too much initial background. A lot of this has been written about - more interested in the immediate run up to the battle and the aftermath.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)