Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
340
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2013
Absolutely loved the characters in this book! Every single one draws you in and had their own little storyline so you could imagine them having their own troubles that come with this city. The story was heavier to read than 'Shadow of the Wind' and slightly confusing in places esp when the storyline comes into play about witches and witchcraft but the wonderful writer 'Carlos Ruiz Zafon' is so gifted as a writer to hold you as a reader and trust that you will make it through the storylines that sometimes spirals but no less a great story. Very intrigued to read 'The prisoner of Heaven' with the hint of why the character David Martin went through these experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
A good read, book condition as stated, speedy delivery and well packaged. After reading the first of the two this was a must. Recommend you try the Shadow of the Wind first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Once you start reading these books you will have to complete them all. Wonderfully different stories within stories. Masterfully written. The Shadow of the wind was fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
It is an incredibly well written book, but sombre and sad, like it's predecessor. Everyone fares badly and there are few happy endings.
I would not read it and expect to be happy and joyous afterwards. I'll save the 3rd book for when I having a lot of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
ANOTHER BRILLIANT STORY
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
I fell in love with the first book in the series and wasn't convinced that Carlos Ruiz Zafon could make an even better book. I was totally wrong he writes with passion and detail. A wonderful book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Another great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Quick delivery and the book was in good condition. Great story..very dark and unusual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
I enjoyed this novel though not as much as Shadow of the Wind. Found story to be repetitive and confusing. Though will give the third one a try!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Once more author Carlos Ruiz Zafon has produced a magically brilliant book about books with `The Angel's Game' being a supernatural saga, an action-packed thriller, a detective novel and a love story. - and perhaps even a philosophical or religious treatise. It tells a dark and gripping tale with narrative moving at a cracking pace and introducing something new on almost every page. Though a stand-alone novel `The Angel's Game' (about writers) follows from Zafon's first book `The Shadow Of The Wind' (about readers), but for me it is not quite as good. This is partly because, in spite of its compelling nature, it reads as though at least two translators were employed with varied language that is generally elegant and stylish yet sometimes colloquial and abrupt. However the main drawback is the book's proliferation of sub-plots (of which some are left unexplained) and their complicated inter-relations. This complexity undermines any possible plausible solution and for me it leaves the ending somewhat weak. I suspect author Zafon is deliberately provoking readers to use their imaginations and to arrive at their own conclusions. I discussed this with my wife and we had both interpreted things differently - so read it yourself - you won't be disappointed.
44 Comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse