Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
70
4.0 out of 5 stars
The Polish Officer
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 October 2017
another great story from Alan Furst
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Some of the authors research could be better. For example, he mentions Lancaster bombers in a 1940 setting, when the Avro Lancaster didn't come into service until 1942.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2017
A good historical read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
I've really been enjoying working my way through this series of Alan Furst novels, but in this one with attention to detail being crucial with historical novels; Lancasters in 1940 ??? I don't think so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Well written drama with good historical details of life in Eastern Europe during WW11.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
I have read many of Alan Firsts novels and this did not disappoint,would definitely recommend it for anyone interested in this topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
This book is brilliant. A must read. If you have read anything else by Furst you will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
rather inconclusive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
my first furst book, took me a while to pick up on his style of writing ,when I did I found it well paced and well written, will try another
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2001
This is the first novel I've read by Alan Furst, and I was pleased to find that the golden opinions which Furst has been winning (comparisons with Le Carre, among others) seem to be justified. He writes unobtrusively well, and the period in which the novel is set offers almost too much material for the thriller writer.
For the English or American reader, life in Occupied Europe from the perspective of those who lived there is still an unfamiliar angle from which to view the Second World War, and I found Furst's treatment a refreshing change from the usual Anglocentric perspective. There are no English or American characters of any significance; instead the focus of interest is upon the emigres and displaced persons, the former military officers and bandits who find themselves more or less willingly drawn into an apparently hopeless resistance to the occupying Nazi and Soviet forces in France, Poland, Russia and the Ukraine. It is a small triumph that Furst makes this unfamiliar material compelling to the English reader.
I would add only one caveat; the author's somewhat curious decision to limit his period of interest to that between roughly 1938 and 1941, (broadly, that in which the Axis powers were most clearly in the ascendant) although defensible in dramatic terms, left this reader at the novel's end with a strong feeling that the whole story had not been told. I understand that Alan Furst's other, and now rather numerous, novels are set in the same period, and one wonders how long it will be before he begins to feel constrained by this self-imposed restriction. Certainly the central character of The Polish Officer is strong enough to justify at least one sequel, and perhaps to set the mind at rest.
It is a measure of the author's success that one badly wants to know for certain that his hero survives the war. I will certainly be seeking out this author's other books, though I will be surprised if they are superior.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here