Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I do find Paul Torday's books very readable. It helps that he has characters wandering out of one book into another and plots or themes from one book prefigured in another. But also, the world he describes seems a pleasant, sunlit place, populated by decent types with names like Hector ("Eck") Chetwode-Talbot who bump up against each other in London clubs and never have to do a 9-to-5 job. Instead they live on inheritances or farm a bit. There might be some trauma in the background - in Eck's case, a nasty experience in Afghanistan - but it's kept at arm's length. As Eck says in "The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers", none of them are ever really on the edge.

Or so you might think. There comes a time, though, when the music stops, and most of the chairs have disappeared. In this book, Torday describes the recent financial crash. Eck is a roper-in for a London hedge fund, encouraging his wealthy friends to put their money in his company's "Styx II" fund. The Charlie of the title is a lower level conman, selling dodgy dog food and beetroot wine from the back of a rented van, stretching his credit and vanishing when things get too hot. What, the book asks, is the real difference between them? It's perhaps a fairly obvious point, and certainly not a subtle analysis of the crash, but Torday's characters are compelling (except the real villains, who are perhaps a bit cardboard). I did see how it would all end when I was three quarters of the way through, but it's fun to read and still quite compulsive - I had to sit up last night to finish it.

Properly I'd like to give 3.5 stars but as I can't, 4 rather than 3 for sheer verve and readability.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
I loved this book so much that I immediately went out and bought another book by Paul Torday. With someone who writes as well as this, I don't think you can really go wrong.
I couldn't put the book down. The plot was ingenious, the themes topical, the characterization very credible and as an added bonus, it had me laughing out loud. That's not to say that it was a comedy. There are definitely some scary parts and one or two very scary characters. And the ending is terribly sad.
However, everything flowed, all details were relevant, and Mr Torday is a very competent and compelling storyteller.
I only wish that really good books like this would get more attention, but sadly, it's often the so-called bestsellers that end up being a disappointment. You won't get that here.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Pros - It's well written, and the financial backdrop and jargon seem well observed. It's also interesting (if you've read any of the author's other novels)to see how the lives of characters from other tales intersect with the characters in this story.

Cons - The parallels between Charlie the low level conman and Eck the hedge fund financial salesman are too laboriously worked, to the point where it is in danger of becoming a finger wagging morality fable. Also given that we all know the outcome of the financial shenanigans described, the reader can accurately predict the fates of Eck, James and Bilbo right from the outset. We are constantly reminded of the physical resemblance between Charlie and Eck, so the "mistaken identity" twist is also quite predictable once you hit the last few chapters.

It's written in the author's usual pleasant (if bittersweet) style, it's not a demanding or exciting read, but the main characters are well drawn, and it's a reasonably interesting read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2012
I had enjoyed two of Paul Tordays earlier books and thought I would give this a go.
The tale is told by Hector, who is a "greeter" for a hedge fund company, attracting new clients and comforting existing investors. He observes his experiences in a comfortable way which is very easy to read and gets around the problem of relating events where he is not present by referring to stories being told to him later in time, quite a clever way of getting around a problem with a first person narrative.
I was hooked into the plot from the first page of the prologue. The story has financial blind optimism at its heart which creates a wonderful feeling of inevitable gloom in you as you are reading, as you know better than Hector about the future prospects for the investments.
There are many novels which have used the financial boom and bust as a backdrop. This one approaches the economic crisis in a very matter of fact and easy of understand way which links in well with the plot of the story.
It's a great story with some lovely characters whose only criticism can be that they are slightly overplayed. That aside it is a good fun book to read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2015
'Money. It was all about money'. The first sentence of the author's note to reading groups says it all. This is a modern morality tale about the harm created by greed, that leads to those affected to suspend judgement and sign up to any scheme that promises fabulous returns with no risk attached. This book is a telling indictment of the 'loadsamoney' culture that took over in the first years of the new millennium, and the inevitable crash in its final years. There are two heroes- if that is the right term - 'Eck', a fundamentally decent person who has been scarred by the new kind of warfare pursued by the modern British Army, and is seduced by the lure of the hedge fund culture in the form of the Mountwilliam Partners, headed by the obnoxious Bilbo; and the eponymous Charlie Summers, a kind of down at heel petty conman who flourishes on the fringes of society, and comes up with one ridiculous scheme to make money after the other, all of which end in failure. There is obviously a parallel to be drawn between them, as many reviewers have pointed out, though the author has painted a particularly sympathetic picture of both. They are both, in the sense, the victims of modern society. Paul Torday (who will be greatly missed) has clearly drawn on his own experiences to create a wholly credible world of finance and its operation. Yes, it is a deeply moral tale, and the author does not hesitate to make this point with the symbolism of the notorious Styx fund - a sure route to loss and oblivion - and the shadowy figure from the Middle East that Bilbo asks Eck to entertain, who is clearly up to no good, the only question being who or what he represents.

The end of the novel is both appropriate and fitting : I can say no more without providing spoilers. Maybe not in the same category as his debut novel, but still a work by a talented author reflecting on a major theme in modern life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 May 2010
This is a very easy read, describing the interaction between the itinerant underperforming eponymous businessman Charlie Summers, who mets two friends, Eck and Henry, whilst holidaying in the South of France, and attaches himself to them. The narrator, Eck Chetwode-Talbot, is a veteran of Afghanistan now employed by a ruthless ex-school colleague who heads a hedge fund just prior to the global financial crisis and melt-down of the global banking system. The book has veins of light humourous observations running through it, as Eck tries to sort out what is important in his life whilst the events in Afghanistan come back to haunt him, and Charlie flounders from one failed business venture to the next. The separate threads of the characters comes together at the end, although I was wondering at times where it was all going. Really just a light entertaining story. Quite good but not outstanding.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
Probably the best novel (known to me) that Paul Torday has written post "Salmon Fishing in the Yemen". Here he teases over the question of the difference of an obvious old-style chancer (in Charlie Summers) and a superficially successful employee of a hedge fund business. He also follows the fortunes of characters who have appeared in an earlier novel. His style is direct and never fails to hold the reader's attention.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2014
The style of Torday is great, very perceptive of why people do things and you feel you know the person by the end of the story
In the end Charlie Summers comes across as a very sad character - when at times duting the book you really think he is an uncaring brute
Its still topical based on the financial crisis of 2007/8 and neatly protrays the mind set that maintained this would go on forever ..
A very human story as well with the fall out from those events - and how people deal with it and move on
Great read - recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
I just love this author. The story has been explained well by other reviewers so I won't describe it myself. If you like your books with a simple plot, with humour and a touch of the 'strange' then Paul Torday is for you! My favourite of his so far is The Irresistible Inheritance of Wilberforce. Apparently he was 60 when his first book (Salmon Fishing in the Yemen) was published, I really hope he has lots more books left in him!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
I have read all Paul Torday's books up to date and this one did not disappoint. As the plot has been outlined in other reviews, I will keep this brief and just say ''The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers'' is another great read. His earlier novels, like this one, are a mixture of humour and (often) sadness - his characters usually somewhat flawed but likeable. There is always an unusual twist to look forward to. I so enjoyed this latest novel and urge others to read it. It's impossible not to like ''Eck'' and Charlie Summers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse