Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
58
Around The World In Eighty Days
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 December 2017
A truly entertaining book, and one I was itching to get back to reading every second it was out of my hands. Michael Palin has a new fan in me.

While it is obvious that Michael Palin takes his role as author and tv presenter seriously, there are moments of great observational humour in this book (as one should expect from someone who was part of the Monty Python crew).

If you want a book that does not bash you over the head with an overload of an info dump, yet provides relevant information, coupled with humour and a sense of life, here you are. A great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2017
good value for money and good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2017
It's easy to take for granted the shrinking of our world but Palin's book reinforced the need for us to appreciate first hand the connections between nations, and the people that maintain them. A very human account of a famous journey. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Amazing story teller!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
Revisiting this recently is like meeting up with an old friend and chewing the fat of a few pints.

I was immediately engaged with him on his journey which his observations and character studies more than bring to light and this really works as a diary format.

Total armchair travel. Total enjoyment. Total Palin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 October 2008
Having read Pole to Pole &Full Circle (as well as watching various bits of his programs courtesy of the history channel!) I thought this particular one would be another case of Mr Palin using a tawdry, overly ambitious idea and not much enjoying the result.

However I was wrong! As this was supposedly his first expedition it has that wonderful virgin territory quality and has all the joy and very little of the occasional malaise of his later trips. The sheer happiness Michael finds in visiting India and China (which he'd never visited before) and his teasing, slightly mocking tone towards Phileas Fogg's own experiences make this book an absolute joy to read.

And the best thing? Because this was written when the author was predominantly a comic actor and not a travel writer, it has a wonderful humour to it that helps the trip seem a breeze.

My one criticism would have to be the latter part of the trip - in America. Although bits of it are fun, one gets the impression the author was out for camera shots at this point and had lost interest in new horizons. However, the train trip is interesting...

Anyhow, as an book for a holiday reading this is one of Palin's best combining both his skills as a comic and as a traveller in perfect balance. Oh and, if you like this, do try A Piano in the Pyrenees or Long Way Round.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2009
Michael Palin Books What can i say they are a must have for the travell book lover.
They are funny and they show lifestyle's from all over the world.
Around The World In 80 Days is the first TV journey Palin made and also with the most suspense.
This book that comes with the TV show is beautiful, great pictures and stories
and the book itself is of high quality (paper,binding etc.)

J. van der Heijden
The Netherlands
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2006
"Around the World in 80 Days" is the book based on the TV travelogue that Michael Palin made for the BBC in 1988. This travelogue was such a success that it started a whole series of TV programs over the following years: "Pole to Pole", "Full Circle", "Hemingway Adventure", "Sahara" and "Himalaya".
The trip was intended to follow the route traveled by Phileas Fogg in Jules Verne's novel from 1872. The self-imposed rule was that airplane travel was not allowed so only trains, buses, ships and cars could be used. This was problematic for Michael Palin because in 1872 there were many passenger ship lines, while in 1988 there were almost none because of air travel. As a result he had to obtain passage on various cargo and container ships that normally don't accept passengers.
All of Michael Palin's travel books (and DVDs) share the same qualities. Mr. Palin's wit and charm and exuberance are evident, and he has a knack of meeting interesting people and getting involved in amusing situations wherever he goes.
This trip is, however, unlike the others in that there is a pre-defined route involving a lot of sea travel, and a "race against the clock" element because the trip must be completed in 80 days. The time limit provides a bit of excitement, especially when Michael Palin passes through Singapore 10 days behind the fictitious Phileas Fogg.
The large amount of sea travel is a negative aspect because it's limited how many interesting things can be done aboard a container ship, for example. In fact, a significant number of the 80 days are spent on board ships, and it gets rather boring.
Still, there are many interesting experiences reported and photographed from the various cities passed through, as well as the countryside. The cultural differences are amazing and Michael Palin reports on it all in a way that makes you feel like you're there with him.
The pictures are beautiful, even though they were not all taken by Basil Pao, who became Michael Palin's regular stills photographer on all of his later trips.
My only criticism is that I would have liked there to be some maps in the book so I could follow the trip more exactly.
The audio version of this book is read by Michael Palin himself, which is a plus. But beware: There are both abridged and unabridged versions of the audio book.
In summary, a great start for what became a great series of travel books and TV programs.
Rennie Petersen
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 November 2010
Before I witter on about Michael Palin and his adventures, I shall point out that this item is American (check out the dollar sign on the front of the packaging pic) and is NOT a standard size. The CD's are a standard size, but the packaging and box are NOT so do not think you can slot it onto any standard CD stand. It is larger and more unwieldy and sadly cardboard. I am purchasing a jewel case as we speak to rectify this.

That aside, there is nothing else that can fault this product. It has the music from the series, is well narrated by Michael Palin and rather than be a simple spoken diary, it has elements of acting in it as Michael tries to add voices and expressions of the people he has met on his travels.

If you have seen the series, then this ADDS to it as there are things he expands on in the audio book that are not in the series, descriptions, and comments on immodium that are downright hilarious!

Great to listen to in the car or just before bed, this cd is a perfect production all round and despite the silly packaging still gets five stars - it really IS that good!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)