Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
49
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2016
This is clearly a scholarly history based on a vast amount of research. The writing is good and the style fluent, touched here and there with humour. It sent me back again and again to follow up characters on Wikipedia. I read it on Kindle and it lost a star for me because of the plethora of characters which were difficult to place in the family story. No doubt the author had them all clear in her mind, but even with some knowledge of the period, I found it difficult to keep track of them, their positions and titles. There is much here of social history, religious history, European affairs and intrigue, battles and wars. Louis doesn't come out of it too well in my view. He seems to have been as big a monster as Henry 8th in England and left France nearly bankrupt, having wrecked marriages, families, individual lives and left many mutilated or killed by his wars. Antonia Fraser has done a first rate piece of work. You cannot read this book without coming away educated and enriched.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
Brilliantly written with great historical insight and incisive knowledge of her subject..a pleasure from start to finish........plus it only cost me a penny then of course the cost of the postage....but I can hardly complain about the latter can I....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Can't recommend this enough
If you are currently watching Versailles on BBC you will love this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
A tough plod, but for lovers of the TV series Versilles this fills in the gaps and gives even more details of life in the Court of Louis XIV. There is a lot of information to take on board but it's a fascinating account of the women in The Sun King's life - and the life in virile The Sun King.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Loving this from the inestimable lady Antonia fraser
Impeccably researched. And written my interest was
Picqued from watching Versailles. But of course
You get the real deal from ms .Fraser. Halfwayvthrough
It
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
I have always been interested in Louis the sun king & especially the women
that surrounds him! This book meets that criteria! Very informative on him but also concentrates more on the women! Had me hooked from cover to cover!
Would recommend if you are interested in him or his times!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Antonia Fraser manages to present a historic account in an enjoyable format. This is the second time I am reading this book and I am looking forward to reading more of her biographies in future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Interesting and a nice companion to the series versailles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
A gift. The recipient is pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Excel to copy and delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.99
£15.41

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)