Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
65
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2006
Adrian Goldsworthy is known to me as a writer of exceptional ability, especially when covering complex subjects. In this biography, he ambitiously attempts to cover Caesar the politician, Caesar the General and as much of Caesar the man that's available to history (sadly, very little). Many biographies concentrate on his military campaigns at the expense of his political aspect (a big mistake, as the two are indivisible), or vice versa. It was a gamble, but Goldsworthy more than suceeds. If you've never read a biography of Caesar before, start with this one - but that doesn't mean he neglects the scholarly aspects. He's not afraid to lay out to the reader the historical controversies that still swirl about Caesar, just as they did when he was alive.

Goldsworthy has the ability to make a complex subject appear both clear and simple, and a highly engaging writing style. I hope he goes on to cover Sulla, Marius, Pompeius and Cicero: or perhaps even older Roman characters. I hope I'll have the opportunity to buy many more of his books. I grew up when narrative history had fallen out of fashion. I'm so glad people have realised that history can be written this way, without sacrificing any academic integrity. Buy this book and you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2006
Adrian Goldsworthy's latest book, "Caesar", is another one of those great books that you cannot afford to miss this year. Following on from his excellent run of books; "The Punic Wars" and "In The Name of Rome", this new title is a great addition to anyone's library.

The tale of Julius Caesar has been told before many times but I doubt as well as this in recent times. The research and story telling is exceptional. I found the book easy to read although it is quite detailed in regards to the political and social events and background that made up Rome during Caesar's period.

The accounts of Caesar's military campaigns were well told and presented with a number of basic maps to assist the reader in following the action. The author presented the facts covering Caesar's life in an un-biased way and left it to the reader to make up his own mind in regards to those controversial events in Caesar's life.

The book is about 520 pages in narrative text along with a number of black & white photographs and maps. Overall this is a good book and I am sure anyone who has an interest or passion for this period of history or for Julius Caesar will enjoy this book immensely.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2006
Adrian Goldsworthy has produced a gripping history of one of the most colourful men to emerge from the classical world and indeed throughout history. The book traces Caesar's life from his early year and his exploits as a young man through his political and military career and of course his infamous death on the Ides of March 44BC.

Goldsworthy, a scholar of ancient warfare has detailed the military campaigns of Caesars proconsular command in Gaul with great clarity. There is an abundance of maps, which, unfortunately, are conspicuously absent in many books. There are several pages of b/w photographs of busts, coins and Rome etc. The complexities of Roman politics are handled by the author with ease, making this book a great read, enthusiast or not.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With Adrian Goldsworthy you know you're in competent academic hands (unlike Bettany Hughes or Tom Holland) and so can rely on his reading of the sources and the scholarship on Caesar. But this isn't by any means a dry, academic tome - Goldsworthy writes well for a lay audience and wears his (intense) learning very lightly. His admiration for Caesar shines through (something which, perhaps, he has to dampen a little in his academic work?) but this is never hero-worshipping for all that.

He sets Caesar in his time but never allows the political background to overshadow the man. Being Goldsworthy, there is a lot of emphasis on Caesar the general in both Gaul and the civil wars, but he doesn't allow military tactics to take centre stage, and stays with the mind of the man.

I enjoyed this book hugely, but my only tiny criticism is that it's a safe read - if you know anything about Caesar, then there won't be any surprises here: all the sources are reviewed, all the incidents dramatised well. This isn't, of course, Goldsworthy's fault as, after all, Caesar has fascinated for millenia but I guess for me the Christian Meier biography of Caesar is still a personal favourite above this one for the way in which he stretches his reading of Caesar.

So, this is highly recommended, but read Meier too and compare their views.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 July 2010
I was really quite surprised by this book, it is a treasure.

I became interested in reading a more in-depth account of the life of Caesar after reading Tom Holland's 'Rubicon' so I bought this book in the hope that it would be a good complement to the excellent overview of the fall of the Roman Republic that Holland had described so well.

I must say that I wasn't prepared to be so taken with a biography that easily rates as one of the most exciting, involving and fascinating narratives I have ever read. Since completing this book I have read other biographies (for example an account of Caesar's adopted son Octavian/Augustus) and nothing really compares with it. I would say that Goldsworthy's style and scholarship is simply so good that you cannot go wrong with this biography of the great general and dictator and it would make a fabulous gift for anyone with any interest in the period. It reads like a novel in fact, and at no point does it become tiresome, dull, or dry and dusty in the way that so many classical commentaries unfortunately manage.

A triumph for Goldsworthy! (Pun intended!)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
Over the years I've read several biographies about Julius Caesar, not to mention several fictional renditions, but I have never found a better piece of work than this one. Adrian Goldsworthy has taken on a very difficult project in this work - how much more can be said about Caesar? Well, quite a lot apparently. His description of Caesar's battles are second to none, while his account of his political career is excellent, but Goldsworthy avoids the pitfalls of trying to second-guess his motives. Where the evidence allows he draws logical conclusions, but, where it doesn't, he refuses to be drawn into useless speculation. The conclusion is that Caesar was Caesar, a Roman's Roman, a man of his times, spectacularly successful but also spectacularly lucky. Nor does Goldsworthy shy away from the great character flaws in this great man - a curious lack of imagination that prevented him from groping towards the solution of Rome's problems that Augustus finally imposed. At the end of the day Caesar had no better solution than to sally forth and continue his conquests in the east. As such Goldsworthy points us towards the judgement that Caesar had more in common with Alexander the Great than his nephew who was to become the first Emperor of Rome.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 December 2014
This is a well written, superbly researched, and for the most part very entertaining account of the life and times of Julius Caesar. The writing conveys some sense of what life must have been like as a Roman with ambition over 2000 years ago, and explains why Caesar's life and death continue to capture the imagination to this day.

Adrian Goldsworthy has presented here a broadly positive case for Caesar and his accomplishments as a military leader and as a successful politician of his times. It is said that all political careers end in failure, and to be murdered by one's own side can hardly, ultimately, be seen as anything else...but the legend lives on and this book goes a long way to explaining why.

Well worth reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of the best biographies I have ever read, from the first Roman period that offered the richest assortment of literary sources and archeological evidence. It covers all of the things that Caesar did, from his political career to his military exploits. Every single page is fresh and engaging, never bogged down in academic trivia or obscure scholarly disputes, but always sticking to the essence of what we can know and indicating what we can't due to lack of evidence. It is dense and utterly fascinating, bringing to life a time but also an exceptional career and life.

First, we get the context of the republic, which is in decline due to the unwieldliness of its procedures and the fatuous intrigues of its Senators and aristocracy; the issues (of empire) it is facing are also increasingly diverse and complex, requiring a steadier hand from an executive. Due to the amount of access points that could be used to block actions, from the auguries of Caesar's mortal enemy Bibilus that were judged "bad" and hence should block all political activity to vetos from Tribunes. The intricacies are all explained with clarity as well as in vivid stories of various incidents. In particular, it became clear to me how important individuals were, rather than parties: alliances were ephemeral, a function of each person's pursuit of personal glory rather than a reflection of any coherent ideology.

Second, there is the particular Roman politico-cultural context. After a series of increasingly brutal civil wars, the ruling class had been decimated, denuded of both high quality politicians and, perhaps worse, the accepted traditions that used to limit their exercise of power (checks and balances via ostracism, but there is much more). In addition, there was the traditional importance of family honor, which went back several generations. While it was a constraint on behavior, it also created an obligation to live up to past glories and offices, both increasing responsibility but also nakedly ruthless ambition. The republic was akin to a religion, to avoid too much control by a king, which was associated with autocratic repression. It is similar to American respect for democracy and alternation of power via parties.

Third, we get to know the unique personality that was Caius Julius Caesar, an aristocrat from a long-declining family that lacked honor (in highest office) for nearly a century. From an early age, he was precocious in astonishing ways. For example, he was captured by pirates while barely older than a student adolescent, but he laughingly partied with them while telling them he would return to crucify them and sell their families into slavery. Once ransomed, he did - at enormous profit from slave and booty revenues.

Nonetheless, as a tribute to Goldsworthy's art as biographer, we see Caesar as only one of the typical kind of brilliant aristocrat of his time, just another ambitious youth willing to risk his life to advance. Throughout his entire career, he was one step ahead of utterly ruinous catastrophe. Yet though his innermost thoughts and drives remain a complete mystery, he was always thinking ahead, to the long-term prospects of his pursuit of glory and power. It is as intimate a portrait as possible, subtle, and just this perspective is worth the price of admission.

Fourth, Goldsworthy follows the trajectory of Caesar's career. As a struggling politician to the age of 40, with occasional military missions, he built a client base by providing services and cultivating an image as a "popularis", i.e. champion of the working class. In this time, we see his friendships with Pompey, Cicero, and many others, in addition to his implacable enemies, such as Cato (a rigid fool, if you ask me) and Bibilus. He also gained an impressive array of lovers, including Sevilia, the mother of Brutus, which was also a political act.

Caesar was a poltical genius, rarely making mistakes and always planning his next accomplishment, which always advanced his prospects. Though born relatively poor, he became immensely rich, risking everything with his debts - incurred to entertain the masses, then finding military opportunity to exploit in Spain. To run for highest office, he also gave up a triumph, one of the greatest honors possible, which has been denied through administrative procedure by his enemies.

Fifth, Caesar's military genius is microscopically examined, which is utterly fascinating and a good half of the book. You get his strategy and tactics, but most interestingly his leadership style. In this respect, Pompey, his great competitor, comes off as an unimaginative master of mass confrontation (overwhelming adversaries by superior force and organization), whereas Caesar is a creative underdog, often badly outnumbered, seeking advantage in terrain, tactics, and by understanding the assumptions behind his adversaries behavior; there are so many leadership lessons that I cannot do them justice here.

Regarding his leadership, Caesar cultivated good subordinates that could never equal his fundamental creativity; this required him to make most of the big decsions, of which they were consistently incapable. In this regard, you witness Cicero's brother, Marc Anthony, Labienus, etc. He also respected his adversaries to recognize their own self-interest, which explains his clemency and lack of cruelty, but also his ability to entice enemies to give up without fighting to the death as they expected mercy. Again, very subtle stuff, which nonetheless led to his assassination.

Sixth, with the civil war, the reader learns of Caesar's immense egotism. To preserve his dignitas, which his senatorial adveraries threatened via trivial lawsuits in my view, he was prepared to plunge the empire into civil war, resulting in untold thousands of deaths: rather than humiliation, exile and the end of his career, he used military force to smash his adversaries.

Seventh, once all his adversaries were subject to his rule, we see his governance, all the while campaigning in such disparate locations as SPain and Egypt. Here, Caesar may have been a reformer of genius, riding rough shod over problems that had festered for decades under the immobile republic. While Goldsworthy continually reminds us of how little we can actually know, he gives a balanced view of what we know Caesar to have stood for. Once again, we feel awe at the depth of his genius, in particular surpassing Alexander the Great in this domain.

Eighth, we get a glimpse of his literary genius. While traveling, he would dictate correspondence and his book-length commentaries to three full-time secretaries. In the process, he created both a new level in the art of political propaganda and refined the accepted style of written Latin, challenging Cicero as the premier writer of his time. Again, unbelievable accomplishment.

Finally, as Caesar had flouted so many conventions and mortally offended so many, we see his assassination. Interestingly, throughout the entire book, the author always demonstrates that Caesar could have lost everything with a single misstep, most obviously in the military domain. In the last instance, he took one risk too many, in trusting those he pardoned.

I was astonished to see how much more of a gambler he was than I had imagined, after reading more than a dozen histories of Rome. This in my view is the true art of biography: you feel you are seeing the life as people did at the time, even if you know what happened in the end.

This is absolutely brilliant popular history. I will have to read more by this gifted author, one of the best I have ever read on the Classical era. Recommended with the greatest enthusiasm.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
This is an amazing book; ESSENTIAL reading for Caesar fans. I haven't read all the books written about the great man, but this has to be the definitive book, or at least a contender. Covers Caesar's life in detail. And I would recommend to anyone with an interest in Ancient Rome and the Late Republic, this books goes into detail on both topics but it is never boring, Goldsworthy is a great historian with a straightforward writing style the simple to read and follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
It took me a long time to read this book and it was worth it. I am not very much enthusiastic with very long books since I tend to get bored BUT this was not the case. I agree this book is, perhaps, a recommended reading for readers not very acquainted with the life of Caesar and the history Rome, such is my case, and there is nothing much to add to all these reviews, but to remark the attractive, sometimes absorbing reading of this great personality -obviously not perfect- and a life full of accomplishment, especially his years away from Rome.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)