Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
30
Dark Voyage
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 October 2005
Furst doesn't write thrillers in the conventional use of the term. He writes stories about people coping wih living in extraordinary circumstances -- no plans or grand schemes just the buffetings of Fate which require making constant adjustments and compromises. So the stories, like episodes in life, sometimes have a distinct beginning and an end but often just peter out without any fixed resolution. Either you like that or perhaps you find his books unsatisfying since you might think the stories get nowhere. I like it.
Dark Voyage is a novel in this mould with a strong narrative but a wandering story. It has echoes of Greene and Conrad as another reviewer has suggested and a similarly poignant ending like many of Greene's stories.
And like many of Greene's "entertainments" it is to be viewed on its merits -- it does not set out to self-importantly weigh the human condition. It does seek to entertain -- and it succeeds in doing that very well. Intelligent writing that does not stoop to sensation or artifices of plot to achieve its effect .
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
Did not enjoy as much as his Paris books. I felt spies at sea did not quite come off tho atmospheric wise very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2017
One of his very best. A powerfully evocative rendering of the complex politics at play in wartime Europe and, at the same time, a great action adventure. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I just wish Alan Furst could write them as fast as I read them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2017
Good try at spies on sea. Atmospheric and realistically drawn. His Paris stuff is better.
As is his other land based novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2017
A well - written and extraordinarily unbelievable story which was an ideal long flight or holiday read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. For me this was a first for Furst (sorry!) and look forward to more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2015
I like all of Alan Furstt's books. Tthe story took place during war time, and was about a particular vessel during its various voyages , which I found at times a bit slow. However the people in it were interesting. I quite liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
Another superb espionage novel. First has the priceless ability to avoid repetitive and formulaic work. Each novel is fresh and engrossing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2017
So many places explored, so many people described an,d discussed, so many war scenarios examined and explored. I was disappointed when our ship was at last beached.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
I've read everything Allan F has written and have been enthralled by every one. The time he covers, between the world's wars is a crucial and fascinating period and is depicted in rigorously well researched manner.
I love the ending, for instance Dark Voyage, leaving the reader with a sense of a real experience.
You'll have to write faster Allan as I've read everything you've written.

Ian Russell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2016
superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here