Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2010
Loved this book! At first I was not sure whether to read it as it was written in the 60's so thought the info would be out of date etc but how wrong I was. Dian Fossey gave her life to the conservation of gorillas and I really related to her in this book. I think it is amazing what she did and how she managed to habituate the mountain gorillas as well as her struggle with rescued orphans. I found this book truly inspirational and anyone with an interest in apes and conservation will love this. I have since bought the National Geographic DVD that accompanies this book. This book was written by Dian Fossey 2 years before she was killed so it is a complete book and doesn't end abruptly. I enjoyed this book slightly more than 'In the Shadow of man' by Jane Goodall just because of the way it was written I just seemed to engage with Dian Fossey slightly more and I have the same views as her that all animals should be wild and free and never kept in cages. Zoos can never provide what freedom and the wild can. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Dian Fosseys own events of her 13 years on the slopes of the Virunga volcanic mountain range in Africa. She tells of the different groups of gorillas and the characters of some of the individuals. There is a good account of her fieldwork which she pioneered in, and also her personel daily struggle against poachers, bad weather, high altitudes, and much more. Its a good read if your at all interested in gorillas or even adventure.Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
An excellent read in every way
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
A detailed account of how Dian Fossey found herself studying mountain gorillas. A very personal odyssey of a remarkable woman who dedicated her life (quite literally) to saving these majestic creatures. Far from being the mad woman portrayed in the movie she describes the heartache of losing the two young gorillas to a european zoo and the overwhelming grief of losing her beloved digit. This book is a must for all animal lovers and particularly those who love the greatest of the great apes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Surprisingly dated in style and content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
I absolutely love this book. It's a fantastic recollection of Dian Fossey's time with the mountain gorillas of Rwanda. The way she writes completely drew me in to her story and I really empathised with her feelings in times of anger, sadness, happiness and relief. The sections of colour and black and white photos add to the text and make it easier to visualise what is going on. The appendix which contains scientific information including birth rate graphs, autopsy results and parasitology sections made it all the more interesting for me, as a biomedical sciences student. I would recommend this book to any primate lover or 'wannabe' animal researcher/conservationist. Dian Fossey's story here has really inspired me to follow my dreams into wildlife conservation.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
I beg to differ with Quick Reviews comments below. To compare the book with the movie is not really comparing like with like. The purpose of the book was to present her research findings as indisputable proof of the need to save the highland gorilla. The movie was intended to reach a wider audience, with more general insight into the problems of deforestation and poaching in the hope of garnering support to her struggle to save them. The book and the movie compliment each other in the campaign, many have been moved to see/read the other once they have been introduced to the story. They are two sides of the same coin really. The other point is that Diane Fossey was murdered in 1985 (book finished in 1983) and the problems faced in this region keep evolving.

I have been to Rwanda and the Virungas and have seen the gorillas in the wild and it is heart breaking to think that these gentle giants (forget King Kong, that's Hollywood!) are teetering on the brink of extinction. But it isn't all hopeless, the awearness created by the book and movie has renewed conservation efforts, though dangers still remain, they may still have a chance. I do hope more people will read this remarkable book written by a remarkable woman.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2004
now if you know about Dian fossey or have atleast heard of the woman you will like this book, it is her life and it is told in a good way.some parts might upset you, what with the poachers and photos inside of slaughtered Mountain Gorillas,but it is the truth about what happened and what is stil happening in regions of Africa. dont get me wrong,its not all about poachers, its her life and everything in it, written in a scientific yet funny and understandable way for every kind of reader so u dont get bogged down in it all! theres even a map and gorilla family trees! some truths about gorillas which i didnt know i discovered in this book and i can tell you, they are not pretty,but none the less i cudnt help smirking over the innocent free mischeivious apes! you must read it!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
The book can speak for itself. A beautiful if sad story. We went to see the gorillas last year. Amazing creatures and the book answers so many of the questions you think of after your visit to see them. If you cant get to see them for yourself, read the book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
I loved the film based on this book so was looking forward to reading this. It didn't disappoint, it is clear how passionate she was about the mountain gorillas and this shows just how much of her life was dedicated to this cause. It is divided into sections, focusing on the different groups she followed in her time, but it is the story of Digit which is the most moving.

My only (slight) criticism of this is that it is a bit too detailed at times. Although I did find the information interesting, at times the descriptions of the feeding, toilet habits, sleeping habits etc were very in-depth and felt more like case notes at times. It was the information about the relationships between the gorillas and her developing relationship with them which was more interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)