Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
A Soldier's Song: True Stories from the Falklands
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 November 2016
A great book by a great writer. I read this book in 1995 and inspired me to write myself. I've always been interested in what happened 'down south' as it was these very soldiers that 'dragged' me through training as a young recruit. This book to me, is written from the 'Tom's' perspective, meaning the Private soldier. Ken Lukowiak is honest about his feelings, the sheer brutality of war.... He has interjected flashbacks of his youth, which gives this read breathing space and reflection. One of the best books ever written about the Falklands War. 10/10 (because Ken is a friend on Facebook)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2015
Along with Don't cry for me sergeant major this book introduces you to the humorous cynical world of the British Tommy. Full of hilarious exchanges between men of 2 Para and 3 Para along with a few Ruperts and Bootnecks amongst others. But on a more serious side it takes you into battle and the struggles one has with their mind as they try to stay alive by killing the enemy first. Lukowiak is honest about his feelings and failings and has produced an enjoyable book which on two occasions had me a little emotional. I wish the author well and hope he finds peace.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2015
The new, X-rated Spike Milligan for the Falklands War. I bought this originally back in 1999, - this was a replacement copy. My friend, a WW2 veteran, spent six weeks in hospital after a stroke and I read this to him every night. He loved it. As an "old soldier" he related to a lot of it. It is rude, crude and contains strong language in places, but it's "real". When we send young men off to war I feel we owe it to them to read their stories afterwards and learn what they went through on our behalf. It is very rarely that I feel moved to write to an author after reading a book, but in this case I did.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2012
Ken Lukowiak gives a deeply moving account of what it really feels like to be a soldier in a war,it's not just full of bravado but the deep emotional roller coaster that a human being goes through, terror, laughter, anguish, pride - all written with a unique style that has you gripped from start to finish. He has you laughing with his wry squaddie humour one moment then crying with him in his pain the next. This book is for everyone, men women, those for and those against war will appreciate this truly honest story. The book has been made into two stage plays and the book is now recommended reading for some University Degree level courses. With the 30th anniversary of the Falkland war this year, Ken himself is at the 2012 Edinburgh Festival in August where he will be telling his story. With authentic recordings of artillary, aircraft, explosions etc in multi-directional soundscape and original images, he will take his audience into the battlefield itself. Don't miss it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2013
It's certainly better written than any of the other eyewitness accounts. It gives you all that 'war is hell' stuff but without the hand-wringing or the macho posturing - and it does it with humour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2016
Not read was purchased as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2015
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
GOOD BOK FOR EX NATIONAL SERVICE VETERANS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2013
a good read and so true of all the people that were there and at times humour was the best way to deal with what was going on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2014
Great book , well written and hard hitting in parts. Really brings home the reality and futility of conflict. Don't miss out on reading this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)