Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2015
Disappointing. Touted as being an in-depth look at Page's production techniques, guitar skills, gear etc. (as opposed to a comprehensive bio, which I was not interested in), it provides very little in way of detail and specifics. The writer comes from a magazine background and it shows. He is not up to the task of a full fledged exploration of Page's sonic career. The Q and A sessions shed very little light on Page in the studio and there is barely any discussion about his personal gear, never mind studio equipment. What gauge strings does he use? What songs did he use his Tone Bender used on? These are not unreasonable expectations, considering the writer is the editor of a guitar magazine. He tries to avoid these points of interest by insisting Page either doesn't remember or is protecting his sonic secrets. Well, it's a reporter's job to dig! Plenty of websites have covered these exact topics and more credibly. I was hoping to have the answers between the pages of a permanent book, but this ain't it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I'm a bit disappointed. My main complaint is that it doesn't go into the songwriting process a lot. There's the occasional mention here and there about it but it's not enough. Why not ask a ton of questions about how Page and Plant worked together? It's one of the coolest and most successful songwriting collaborations in history and it's not touched upon much. Did he employ certain techniques and tricks for writing, like using theory and stuff like that and how hard did he have to work at it to get results etc? Such a shame, those things are a zillion times more interesting than anything else, to me.

Engineers and such will love it though as there's a lot of info about mic placement and other things like that, that generally put me to sleep. But like other people have said, it's not all bad, lots of interesting things here, but it could have been a lot better if the author had run his list of questions by me before meeting Page
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Simply the best book on Jimmy Page I have ever read. Highly recommended. Discover the 'Surrey Delta' !
Interviews with the man himself are so much better than anything else I have read Zep related. This puts the like of Mick Walls book where it belongs - in the bin.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Probably the greatest, most innovative, versatile and influential guitarist of the last 50 years. Fantastic book. I read it cover to cover on a wet Sunday and then again at a slower pace to truly take in all the detail. It's best read with your headphones on with the full Led Zeppelin catalogue available on your mp3 (or whatever) player. Not being a guitarist myself, I found some of the descriptions of Page's unique guitar tunings and revolutionary effects a little daunting - but listen to the tracks as you read and it truly comes to life.

As if that wasn't enough, JP is at last given real credit for being a genius producer and sound engineer - a fact long known By Zep fans, but not generally realised by the record buying public. He brought together the amazing talents of Plant, Jones and Bonham, and has left the world a legacy which will outlast us all. Led Zeppelin's output will be "classical music" in 2113 - and maybe only Pink Floyd could stand alongside them in a hundred years time.

Definitely a book for both musicians and fans, and a revealing portrait of a very charismatic man. One of the very, very few who deserve the title "rock legend".
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Christmas gift for a male friend who doesn't normally read but is a big Jimmy Page fan, he loved it and can be sat reading!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Brilliant book for any Jimmy Page fan and very much enjoyed by the person it was bought for who is a great Jimmy Page fan
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I enjoyed the book and it's a good read, up to a point.
I'm not old enough to remember LZ at their peak so I wanted a warts and all, true representation of JP. The technical stuff and details of how the songs came about were all fascinating but I still really don't know who JP really is or what he got up to off stage. I admire people more if they open up and talk about the less appealing side of their characters or past errors. JP says it himself: why start the LZ reunion thing and only do one gig. So why agree to be interviewed for a 'biography' and only tell half the story?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Great book,a must read for Zep fans.This book is very interesting read not like some others out their to which i gave up half way.I like Tolinski reads..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
This book covers Page the producer which is exactly what I was looking for. In my opinion he's THE producer of the 70s but gets very little respect in that quarter due to his obvious talents elsewhere. That said the studio gear lists are kept to a minimum in an effort to make the book work for a wider audience, and it very much works in this regard. For me it doesn't hurt to know what compressor he used on his acoustic or the fact that it was a bog standard guitar but the real enjoyment was getting it direct from the man himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Session Guitarist , producer , creative genius , songwriter , leader of one of the most successful and forward thinking bands of all time!!! READ IT!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse