Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2017
Great advice. Pity there isn't a more recent version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
The guide is useful in giving a feel for what a university is like, what the mix of students, housing and social side is like. So from that point of view it gives a little more than the tables you can get online from the Guardian or the Complete University Guide websites. However, for the universities I am looking at much is a word for word copy of student comments or admission tutors from the 2010 edition - so presumably quotes gathered in 2009 or perhaps earlier. This is a huge disappointment, and frankly given the amount of change going on with higher education, the amount of building work across campuses etc, politics of applications between Scotland, England and Wales, I'd expect something better from Virgin. I suggest you just see if you can get an older edition from the library first.
Neil
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
If you want to have a guide to the best universities based on student opinion where they talk about the aspects of uni life that aren't just about results and academia, then it's perfect. It gives quite a thorough overview of the uni and talks about social scenes, costs of living, costs of rent etc etc etc and in the front of the book there are tables based on the subject area where the universities that are best suited to that subject area are listed. Only downfall to this - for me personally - is that I want to study media which is put under the category of 'Creative Arts, Arts & Design' which doesn't narrow it down enough, so for me more research was definitely needed. But say you wanted to study 'Veterinary Sciences' or 'Medicine' for example then obviously the tables are perfect.

Despite that though, still what I wanted and having a book to look through is so much easier than bookmarking pages online. So for the price it's great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
We have used Heap, the Sunday Times guide and this book. It is by far the most helpful. My only wish is that some of the descriptions and scores could do with explanation. Eg university campuses are referred to as "civic" or "city centre" without there being a good definition of these terms. Also the star ratings and other comparatives would benefits from explanation. Otherwise really helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Contains a wealth of information on any university within the Uk you could imagine set out in a tabular format that is easy on the eye. information includes:

social rating
safety level
job prospects
accommodation pricing
average cost of living
a bio of each uni etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I bought this same book for £15.99 from Waterstones. It pays to shop around.

This is a good all round book for the more important things regarding life at uni.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Lots of information, easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
A bit outdated, but worth the read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Comprehensive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
I ordered this guide for our son who is looking to do a degree in Agriculture next year. Must say that it was delivered in amazing speed - excellent service Amazon!

When we settled down to have a read it appears only the 'typical' Universities are listed. Reading was fine however Cirencester and Harpur Adams were nowhere to be found. Oh well, perhaps Cirencester is a little new to be listed, after all it was only established in 1845!!

So a word of advice to anyone who is thinking of ordering this, check that your University is listed first!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)