Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2003
I am a huge Marx Brothers fan, but 'Groucho and Me' left me a bit cold. The humour in it is tired and the tone almost arrogant, and I got the impression that the whole book was simply a good idea for a last minute money spinner. It does reveal some interesting and funny anedotes about the Brothers, but these are retold better by some of the good biographiers out there. I would read Kanfer's 'Groucho' bio over this everytime.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
Groucho and Me is just what it says: it's his own off-beat view of himself. Thankfully far from the 'celebrity' puff piece, this book digs deep into vaudeville history, immigrant city life, fast talking street smarts... and comes up with Groucho Marx' unique take on life. And what's more he wrote it himself. no 'ghosts' at work here.

When the Marx Brothers' films are seen today, they offer a different reality to what is available at the multiplexes. Although they were set in an equally make believe world -- where the studios decided what public taste probably wanted at the time -- the big difference between then and now is in the role of the throwaway gag; the one-liner; the quick riposte.

And here lies Groucho's special contribution. His wit, sharpened in traveling the vaudeville theater circuits with his brothers (an unlikely bunch of non-theatrical misfits who somehow pulled it together) is what remains, on celluloid, and in this book.

Groucho Marx is not widely known as a writer: but write he did for American periodicals of note in the middle years of the twentieth century. That skill is shown in this excellent, witty, history lesson. More a series of anecdotes than an autobiography in the boring old sense: it tells us much about the man, how he picked up the skills he needed, and then passed them back to us on stage, in films, and here.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
My partner and I only got into the Marx brothers films last year. Watching each of them, chronologically, has been a joy. When I discovered Groucho had written an autobiography, I was thrilled and bought this book immediately. It is extremely well written, full of his trademark zany humour and I would strongly recommend this book to anyone with a slight interest in the Marx Brothers.

Riaz Ali
Author of 'My Life With Kate Bush'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 1999
The opening passage of this book is a massive egg in the face of ghost writers. Groucho quite rightly states that whilst you may convince the world you are a great man, to yourself you're just the same old guy. That, in a nutshell, is the reason this book is so darn good. Groucho was always a good storyteller, and, as we know, the best stories are true ones. Groucho tells how the immigrant world was through the eyes of a 10-yr. old, how the world of vaudeville was for a teenager, and how the stage, the screen, radio, T.V were for a man - all in a style that is just this side of socko and absolutely compelling reading for people of any age. Buy this book, and while you're at it, buy Harpo & Me (use the little search thing at the top of the page). As companion pieces from the two brothers, they give a very clear perception of life in the Marx family, and are both utterly riveting reads.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2002
Well, it's perfect isn't it. Simply very funny indeed. Perhaps a lot less acerbic than you might expect if you remember some of the dialogue he was given in the Marx Brothers movies; a lot less aggrssive. He wrote beautifully and self-deprecatingly. He narrates particular episodes (hugely embellished for comic effect I'm sure) so gently and then nails you with a wonderful non-sequitur or a pun out of nowhere. It's a joy. He was an incredibly funny man.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
I RECEIVED THIS AS A PRESENT ABOUT 15 YRS AGO AND NEARLY HAD A HERNIA LAUGHING SO MUCH .

I LENT IIT OUT LOADS OF TIMES AND IT BECAME QUITE TATTY OVER YEARS AS I RE READ IT MANY TIMES AND MY FREINDS,SOME OF WHO DIDNT LIKE GROUCHO OR HIS BROS DOUBLED UP IN LAUGHTER ESPECIALLY THE BIT ABOUT HIS ESCAPADE CAMPING
I SCOURED MANY BOOKS SHOPS LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT FOR A LONG TIME WITH NO JOY, AND WAS ECSTATIC TO FIND I COULD STILL GET IT
ILL FRAME MY OLD BOOK AND GET ON WITH TURNING THIS ONE INTO THE SAME CONDITION
IF YOU LOVE A GOOD READ THAT WILL CHEER YOU UP THIS IS A MUST ITS A BOOK THAT WILL NOT DATE,I CAN SEE PEOPLE READING IT IN THE NEXT CENTURY
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
This is a well written,interesting and enjoyable autobiography.I ended up rocking with laughter a number of times during the reading of this book.Go on,buy it,just for the fun of it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
It's as if Groucho is sitting there talking to you for hours about life. Oftentimes straying off topic, but always intriguing. Through it all is that instantly recognisable voice and hilarious wit. I look forward to reading the other books by this fascinating genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
My 2nd Autobiography and also, it just happened to be my 2nd Marx Brothers book too.
I found Harpo's Autobiography was better (but this likely comes down to favoritism. I like Harpo more)
However, that being said, from start to finish, this is a great book.

After reading his brother Harpo's book, as mentioned before, I learnt a great deal of their past, their childhood and up bringing and early stage careers. And even though Groucho also mentioned a number of things Id already read, he also went into greater detail that was missed in Harpo's telling of memories.

I personally preferred the first half of the book that focused on his early years and film career, to the second half that was more personal but all in all a great read for any fan of the Marx Brothers work.
It gets a grand *FIVE STARS*

A great book.
Not as great as Harpo's (in my opinion) but still great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
For one of the two funniest men in the world (Chaplin is the other) this is a really boring succession of anecdotes.
The book by his brother Harpo (the osilent one of the brothers) is far, far funnier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)