Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2017
Great for car enthusiasts and original thinkers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2006
Those of you who love well-considered musings on motoring, mechanical gadgetry, male middle age, and the design of all the stuff around us, will love James May. His regular column in the Daily Telegraph's Motoring section is a must-read, freeing him from the limitations of getting a word in edgeways in yet another of Jeremy Clarkson's increasingly egocentric rants.

James May's contribution is the perfect item for seated, solitary moments (if you follow me) but is not remotely dour or glum. His gentle, cerebral wit and deft, wodehousian turns of phrase make him one of the very best writers for the English-speaking chap.

A joy from start to finish...and recommended without reservation!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
A fantastic book and a great laugh. He writes about everything, from how his love of cars began to how American Hard Gums should make a comeback. Its full of subtle humor too, his sort of humor, funny humor. It will keep you hooked for hours, because once you get stuck into this book, you just want to see whats on the next page. If you like cars (or even if you don't) and like a good read (or even if you don't) then this is the book for you. I just hope he writes more, because this is a winner.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
James May's personality from Top gear is evident all the way through this collection of his newspaper columns over the last few years.

He is less angry than Clarkson, more worldy wise than Hammond and can cover the most unusual of subjects and link it to motoring with considerable ease.

A good read for those who enjoy motoring at a more relaxed and unstressfull pace.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 August 2007
This book reads like James May sounds on Top Gear, in fact I could almost swear I could hear him speaking as I was reading. It's a series of articles he has written.

This book is mostly about cars, not surprisingly, but it's also about motorbikes, driving, his fellow presenters on Top Gear, about driving in foreign countries and about life in general. It's funny, irreverent, touching and wry and I loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
I must start off by saying that I love Top Gear, and if i were to admit to having a favourite presenter, it would be James May.
This book is made up of articles from James May's Daily Telegraph Column. they are thoughtful, funny and intelligently written, and because the book is made up of short articles, each one is a perfect length read for that essential 10 minutes of piece and quiet most men can only get in the smallest room.
It isnt a book I would neccessarily buy for a holiday, as unlike a novel, its not a gripping, cant put it down sort of book, because there is no plot, it does not develop to reveal 'who done it'. But saying that each entertaining bite size snippet of Mays view of life and motors makes up for that.I loved it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
Much humour abounds in James May's first book.
Its dedicated to his cat and is recommended best read on the loo by May.
Great read, buy if a May fan, you love cars and like a laugh.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
I absolutely love Top Gear but this is the first time I have read anything written by May. I took it on holiday and it was a joy. I now feel like he is my mate from the pub. He is witty, intelligent and great company. I shall definitely be buying his other book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
If you like wordplay, irony, self deprecation, humour (but not of the laugh-or-I-shoot kind) etc. this is for you. Don't be afraid, it's not about cars really, although they do come into it a bit, but it's mostly about the slightly foggy, clumsy, man-in-shed kind of bachelor, in short, May himself and the many non-adventures in his life which, apart from a few trips to places like Iceland, isn't very eventful or adventurous. Which makes it all the more fun to read about his battles (of sorts) with tools, pets, officialdom, colleagues (you know who), vague friends, someone called 'woman' and yes, cars and motorcycles. Delightful, wordy and inventive entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2008
(Amazon have a cheek. 1'm 12..."A Kid's Review"? Damn! Oh well. This book, then, is a compilation of May's unmissable columns.

It's a compilation of James May's life, but with all those funny bits left in. James manages to extract some humour from anything he looks at.
That curtain over there, by the way...hahaha! (If you're getting my drift).

If you want to take James May on holiday with you, then you're going to be disappointed. I doubt customs would let you past with him in your rucksack anyway.

But don't despair! You can still take him on holiday if you want.

In paperback.

- 5 star *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)