Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
56
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
I enjoyed the book but was left undecided whether I liked Oliver Reed or not. I found his penchant for getting his 'fishing tackle' out as it were, at any available opportunity left me thinking that he clearly had problems in the sex department. His overall behaviour in general did leave me wondering whether he had underlying mental instability which in those days would not be recognised. I reckon if he were in his prime today and behaving like he did, especially the constant exposing himself he would have been locked up for quite a while. Was his acting abilities as good as everyone says, not sure about that, yes he made a brilliant Bill Sykes in Oliver and I have been watching some of his other films but my own personal feelings are that there were better actors about at the same time. I would not deny however that he had a presence on screen, but did not have to do much in the way of acting to project it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
I really enjoyed this book, a great insight in to the real Oliver Reed. Seems he was at times misunderstood and a rare, talent. Would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Standard biog. Worth reading. Takes the reader through the life and times of Robert Oliver Reed. Interesting and shows how alcoholism destroys everything and any one around it ? Good attempt to unravel the enigma of this great movie star . Easy to read and details all of Reeds life well ?
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this book because of the subject; Oliver Reed. He was a great, big bear of a man who was full of life and you never knew what was he was going to do next, which is the great thing about this book.

He could be funny, he could be scary, he could be sweet, he could be aggressive and destructive. The book is packed full of weird and wonderful stories like the time he shows up at Mark Lester's (he was Oliver to Reed's Bill Sykes) birthday party with a hooker as a gift for the young lad. Reed's reaction to the horror of the guests is to tip a bowl of jelly over his head and walk out. Then there's the surreal scene of him showing his testicles to Robert Mitchum and director Michael Winner to demonstrate the damage he'd done to them the night before sitting on some railings.

I didn't want it to end, but end it did in the most appropriate way in a bar. As Alex Higgins once said of Reed: "God bless him and all who sail in him." Amen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2001
A book like this cannot fail to please you because its subject matter is so appealing. The book is very even in its reporting of Olly's antics and shows the bad and malevolent side as well as the humourous side of Olly's life. The only place it falls down is through a lack of detail and a not too large a pool of new quotes (indeed the book is more a collection of excerpts from previous tomes mentioning Olly). A great book to get to know "who Olly was" but lacked details and had chunks of his antics/life seemingly missing - case in point, the intro' tells us of his buying a house in Ireland through the help of a bar associate and later giving it away to a homeless couple - but this is never again mentioned in the book and we do not find any of the details.
Good! but could have been better
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
Cliff Goodwin does a good job of succinctly summarising the life of Oliver Reed.

This biography is not written with a judgemental bias, which would have been an easy approach to take, given Reed's legendary antisocial behaviour. However, Goodwin is a bit too neutral, especially regarding Reed's violent outbursts. He tells the story well, but gives the impression that whatever Reed did was mostly a bit of fun that sometimes got out of hand.

Reed had serious issues adjusting to society, but on P.246 Goodwin says that Reed had "few psychological hang-ups". That doesn't ring true when you reflect that Reed was so often obnoxiously rude and violent that he was banned from many London restaurants. Few who witnessed Reed losing control could have escaped the feeling that his mental state was at least questionable. Most people never dream of exploding violently, never mind throwing chairs through restaurant windows to liven things up a bit. Just a hint of 'psychological hang-ups' ... !

Oddly enough nothing is said of the quantity of alcohol that caused Reed's death, i.e. 3 BOTTLES of rum, 8 bottles of beer and several doubles of Scotch !

Goodwin does capture some tender aspects of Reed's nature, albeit that they were well hidden.

Goodwin has an easy writing style and holds the reader's interest well, except for a minor digression in Reed's ancestry in Chapter 2.

Worth reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
Something about the cover of this book distracted me from the book section that I intended to purchase my next read. There's a little hellraiser in us all, but in Ollie (Well I think we're friends now after reading this book) there was a lot of a hellraiser and for that reason this book appeals. It begins with reports of his death and then goes on to describe his rise and fall. The rollercoaster ride between the covers takes the wind out of the reader with accounts of his drinking binges, the many occasions when he showed some flesh, including the fast becoming famous 'tattooed member!' his good friends and the hangers on, the houses, the wives, the cars the animals, his son, the escapades, the escapades and the escapades. I became quite tired just reading it all and I was sitting in a comfy armchair with a cup of tea and not the three bottles of Vodka that Ollie could drink in one sitting. But what made me carry on? What made me read to the end when at one point I felt that the book was becoming a little repetitive, not unlike his life? Answer: The sheer admiration for his talent. We hear of a man who said to himself 'I'm going to be an actor', and then went out to teach himself by watching other's act. Not for him the fancy classes at RADA, no he did it his way. Every time people, friends and advisors tried to tell him different he did it his way anyway. Frankie would be proud of him. He made some great films and even when the films were not so great he was great in them. He had something, not just the looks, but what seemed to be a God given ability. I loved the telling of his life, I was fascinated at the number of films he did and the relationships he had and as I closed the book, I didn't feel sad for his early death, his difficult childhood or his broken relationships, I felt privileged to have read a little more about a man who took life by the throat, had a wild time, and checked out before old aged could make him miserable.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
Having just finished Evil Spirits my opinion of Oliver Reed has changed. I had always considered him to be thuggish, rude and a violent drunk. This book gives you a new insight into the life and mind of one of Britain's most talented actors.
His childhood is discussed in great detail. His difficulty during his school years due to dyslexia, his parents frosty relationship, his mother's many lovers and then his rebellious teenage years, ending with him completing his National Service. His passion for film leads him to pursue an acting career. You follow Oliver's struggles as he went from audition to audition. Then he made it. He became a film star.
Fiercely patriotic he refused parts in Jaws and The Sting because it would mean moving over to America. He later confessed that was probably one of his biggest mistakes.
The book also discusses the three main relationships of his life. His first wife Kate, with whom he had a son, his partner of a decade Jackie with whom he had a daughter and most notably his very much publicised relationship with Josephine, over twenty five years his junior, who would become the second Mrs Reed.
The book also tells of his many affairs and of course, his love of alcohol. The latter would usually be more of a threat to the women he loved than the former.
His films are discussed in great detail with first hand accounts of on-set shananigans and difficulties from the cast and crew.
Even if you are not an Oliver Reed fan you shall enjoy reading about his truly remarkable life.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2000
This bio of Oliver Reed is your basic summary of his life, without much first-hand interviewing being done. The info is the same as that given by the tabloids through the years and from a recent TV show about his life. I was hoping for some actual info from family and friends that hadn't already been reported elsewhere, but it's not there. There are some errors and little info from movie sets, so this is a disappointment. It looks as though a book was needed quickly after his death, and this is the result. I look forward to the new book forthcoming from one of Olli'es close friends. If you've followed Ollie for years, you probably already have all the info presented in this book. Still, I give it three stars because anything on Ollie is still treasured.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2000
This is an enjoyable book which makes you like the subject despite his frequent bad behaviour. In fact, it's his bad behaviour that makes him all the more likeable, and in this PC age of personality-free, wisdom-free stars, he stands out as a true character and great Englishman. It's a pity the biog isn't much more than a cuttings job though. I'm sure there are a thousand other wonderful Olly anecdotes out there. Who will be the author to compile them in the ultimate Oliver Reed biography?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)