Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Alice Cooper Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Jules Watson was born in Australia to English parents. She worked in archaeology and public relations before turning to writing, working most recently as a freelance writer in England. She and her Scottish husband divide their time between the United Kingdom and Australia.

Jules Watson writes the type of books that I love best of all, books on ancient history, particularly British and Roman history. I am equally happy if they are fact or in this case fiction. The added bonus is that there is only one word for the authors books, large, that is to say they have lots of pages. There is nothing worse than becoming enthralled in a book, only to find that there are only twenty pages left to read. This book will keep you going for some time.

It is set in Roman Britain in 366AD. Minna, a young Roman serving girl and lost her home and her family and has to fend for herself in a world that until now she had been protected from. She is desperate to reach her brother, a soldier at the northern frontier. This is just the start of what I thought was a terrific read. There is much hardship and adventure to come along the way as the Roman forces attempt to subdue Scotland by any means at their disposal and Minna becomes drawn towards Cahir, king of the Dalriadans in Scotland.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2008
I'd already read the first two books in the trilogy, The White Mare and The Dawn Stag, so I was already familiar with Jules Watson's style, of bringing spirituality - in the form of alternative healing, visions and the like - into what were sweeping historical dramas. But with this book, the third and final of the trilogy, she really has excelled herself.

As has been said in other reviews, she has brought in references to the main characters of the earlier books, Rhiann and Eremon, in unexpected, yet wonderful ways. The story soon becomes very, very exciting. And yes, there is another major tear-jerking episode at the end of the book.

For me, though, the most magical thing about this magnificent novel is the way in which the author has brought the spiritual into the everyday (well, if you can accept the everyday as in 4th century Scotland!) And why not? This book isn't a mystery, but it makes subjects such as healing with energies and having visions less mysterious. Just as they should be.

If you like epics such as The Mists of Avalon, you will love this. Five stars - easy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
Having read and enjoyed the first two in this trilogy I expected the third to carry on where the second left off,with the characters who survived the first two books and/or their descendants. The third however is set almost 300 years later. A bit too much "priestessing" for me in this one. If I had realised that it did not really follow on from the first two I would not have purchased it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2007
I have read the third book with great expectations. After first wondering whether this book had anything to do with the storyline of the first books it certainly lived up to it. I found the introduction to the story a bit long winded, but once the story unfolds it is just as gripping as the other books. I found the main characters came to live on the page and I actually cried in several places. This is not to say that the story is too sentimental, but Jules Watson understood her art in transporting her reader into a different reality and way of life.
I can certainly recommend this book to anyone remotely interested in reading about a fictional past that seems just as real as the present.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2007
having read The White Mare and the The Dawn Stag I was really looking forward to seeing how the author moved the story forward 300 years. She has done so brilliantly! The way she weaves the new main characters, Minna and Cahir, into the lives and history of the 1st and 2nd volumes of the Dalriada Trilogy is magical to say the least. Once again I was gripped by these extraordinary characters that came to life on the page. There is a wonderful simmetry between all the cast members as their stories weave in and around each other. For me, Jules Watson has done it again, her skill as a story teller and guide through this most fascinating area of history is quite beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jules Watson was born in Australia to English parents. She worked in archaeology and public relations before turning to writing, working most recently as a freelance writer in England. She and her Scottish husband divide their time between the United Kingdom and Australia.

Jules Watson writes the type of books that I love best of all, books on ancient history, particularly British and Roman history. I am equally happy if they are fact or in this case fiction. The added bonus is that there is only one word for the authors books, large, that is to say they have lots of pages. There is nothing worse than becoming enthralled in a book, only to find that there are only twenty pages left to read. This book will keep you going for some time.

It is set in Roman Britain in 366AD. Minna, a young Roman serving girl and lost her home and her family and has to fend for herself in a world that until now she had been protected from. She is desperate to reach her brother, a soldier at the northern frontier. This is just the start of what I thought was a terrific read. There is much hardship and adventure to come along the way as the Roman forces attempt to subdue Scotland by any means at their disposal and Minna becomes drawn towards Cahir, king of the Dalriadans in Scotland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
The story in books 1 & 2 spent a lot of time and effort to culminate in total failure, I was hopeful that this book would address that. The characters in the first books were interesting (once Rhiann had stopped wailing about how unworthy she was) description of place and events were well drawn, and the spiritual side was appealing and sympathetic to the story, so I was comfortable with the 300 year gap. Unfortunately the mystery and magic of the earlier stories were replaced by total fairy story and the ultimate and unnecesary destruction of a very central
character to make way for another,almost incidental one who the author(certainly not the reader) maybe felt deserved a better ending was more than dissapointing. The characters in this story didn't in the end, have enough depth to really care about them.. The whole book feels as if the author was unhappy with the earlier ending so she galloped through an explanatory coverall. Bit of a shame really ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
If you like gritty tales in wild Scotland, known as Alba, during the time of the Roman conquest then this is for you. This is the third in the Dalriada Trilogy by Jules Watson, though it can stand alone. [The other two are [ASIN:0752865374 The White Mare: Book One of the Dalriada Trilogy]and [ASIN:0752856871 The Dawn Stag: Book Two of the Dalriada Trilogy]] There's loads of battle action, plenty of local and historical detail, love interest and much attention to the Druid religion of the times, with emphasis on the role of godesses. Fascinating characters abound, with whom it is easy to feel involved. A good read, which was hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
I debated between a 3 and 4 star rating. Book two didn't have the slowish spots of the first book,and I gave it a four on the merits of the book minus the epilogue. I really enjoyed this book and was looking forward to following the characters into the next book,at least until I read the epilogue. It appeared as if a four book deal had suddenly been turned into a three book series with the epilogue a synopsis of the missing book. Although I was disappointed by this turn, the book without that part warranted four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Totally, completely, absolutely absorbing. My favourite of the three and probably one of my favourite books of all time. Couldn't put it down and was sorry to have finished it. Might just start reading it all over again, right now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse