Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Heart and Soul
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 March 2017
Predictable stories of various characters linked to a clinic as patients, staff or relatives thereof. Easy reading for holidays or journeys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
The characters were memorable, the stories touching. But I don't understand when this story was meant to be set?? How far behind is Poland meant to be? Even in 2008 everyone under 35 (at least) was already using mobiles and the Internet for nearly everything. Why was everyone writing snail mail rather than emailing? And how old could Ania possibly be that she had grown up using heavy irons that had to be heated in a fire rather than normal electric irons? Silly really but it bugged me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
Another great read from Maeve. I thought I had all her books, so after spotting this on Amazon I bought it. I love the way she weaves characters from her other novels into her books, Fiona pops up again, so does Vonnie and the twins and Quentins and their staff ..... I won't give the story away. I loved it, but then, I love all her books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2017
The story of a small community and how they live their lives. You become drawn in and part of that world with this Maeve Binchy must read. Can't wait for the next one this one's fabulous.... Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
Starting to think -- another one written to a a script by Maeve, however a decent not too demanding read for the beach or hotel pool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Enjoyed the read and it is light enough that its easy to follow. Was purchased at a low price so good value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2010
I have read many Maeve Binchy books, and I find them relaxing and engaging. I have read the books in which many of the characters in this book appeared and were familiar with them. However, I did find this book to be far too sunny and superficial for my liking. The way that the issue of racism was dealt with ie Mrs Rosemary Walsh's behaviour towards the Polish girl Ania was very inadequate and in particular the fact that Mrs Walsh appeared to see the light at the end. I did not find that believable at all. In fact it was as if all the characters had to get on and become great friends, which was just too contrived and banal. I did finish the book but I was disappointed in it and it will be a long while before I read anything by Maeve Binchy again.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
I always love Maeve Binchy books and this one was not a disappointment. There's a rhythm to the books that is pure escapism in these troubled times. Keep writing Maeve!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
I haven't read Maeve Binchy for sometime and I can't put it down, the story is just so good, each character has a background that is explained in such a lovely way, I just couldn't put it down. Excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2017
This author never disappoints me and once again has delivered a book that keeps you entertained from start to finish with her natural ability to sew many lives together in one story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Echoes
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here