Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
27
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2017
Compared to Jonathan Tropper's other novels I found it hard to stay focused on this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Dreadful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2009
One of the things which make Jonathan Tropper's novels so easy to relate to is the astounding humanity of his character. Very few authors can give us characters as well-rounded as his, and Zach in 'Everything Changes' is no exception. He's not perfect, and he does some deplorable things, but it's these flaws which make him believable, likeable, and real.

I'm not sure that any of Tropper's books with ever equal 'Bush Falls' in my eyes, but this one came pretty close. He manages to take three major plot points: a serious health scare, a complicated set of relationships, and an estranged father, and weave them together to produce a plot which never fails to enthrall. All the characters are interesting, and Tropper never pulls any punches in his portrayal of Zach - however much we like the guy, the author never lets us forget for a minute that he's not being faithful to his current girlfriend. I suspect that men find him easier to relate to than women, but I still found Zach to be a very compelling character indeed.

As with Tropper's other books, there is a rich vein of humour in this one which is never lost, and a wealth of universal truths which will really get you thinking. The ending isn't textbook, and that's what makes it so good - it's as satisfying as an end to such much emotional upheaval could be, and holds great hope for what will happen after the novel ends.

In short, this is the third book of Tropper's that I've read, and he hasn't let me down yet. If you're looking for great characters, razor-sharp wit, and a story which will pull you in until the last page, read 'Everything Changes'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I discovered Tropper through his book 'How to Talk to a Widower' which I loved. This book has much the same feel. Zack is a young man crippled by grief at the death of his best friend. His looming engagement party to the perfect young woman of his dreams proves to be a catalyst for his whole, carefully constructed life to start unravelling at the seams.

Tropper's strength is in his ability to write effortlessly the topography of the inside of a man's head. His characters are thoughtful and believable, and utterly engaging. His work reminds me of a more sentimental Anne Tyler.

He writes about the ordinary every day things but which are exploded and made strange and wonderful because they are filtered by the experiences of strong emotions like love, grief and anger.

A touching, funny and redemptive novel.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed this novel far more than 'How To Talk To A Widower', there is a far better plot line and the characters are likeable and very funny.

The story revolves around Zach who has a potentially life-changing health scare that makes him realise that his apparantly very succesful and charmed life is not actually what he wants. There are some great characters throughout the book - Zach's father Norm especially made me laugh and cringe in equal measures.

Although the book is very funny, there is also a great story-line. Witty and honest - I really enjoyed this read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
Another superb Jonathan Tropper novel. This story is about a man named Zachary who is in his 30's, has a good job and is engaged to a lovely woman. However events that are taking place in his life are causing him concern . What we get from this author is not only a funny and witty story but also poignant and sometimes very moving points in his writing. Absolutely love every single one of his books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
I completely loved How to Talk to a Widower so was very excited to get my hands on this one. Again, the Author deals with the death of a young person, the devestating effects it has on that person's circle & just how difficult grief can be. The author is brilliant at exploring and explaining the intricacies of family life and loyalty, no matter how undeserved. The ending surprised me but ultimately I loved how it turned out. Can easily imagine this one being turned into a film as well......
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Stumbled across this author when "How to talk to a widower" caught my attention last year, and this is the 3rd of his novels I've read, none of which have disappointed.

If you like books that pull you into the troubles of the protagonist, and like your troubles, thick, fast, life-consuming, generally family related,and mixed in with a wicked sense of humour, then you're sure to enjoy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
Another highly readable book from this excellent author. A really good plot, a lot of humour, a sprinkling of sadness and some fantastic characters - it's got the lot! Zach's dad was particularly memorable as was the housemate Jed and I defy anyone to be unmoved by the description of Zach's last hours with Rael. Highly highly highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Having read " How to Talk To A Widower" , I couldn't wait to try another of this authors books and I was not disappointed. Zack has it all, great job, living with a friend rent free and engaged to the beautiful and rich ,Hope. But as his engagement party approaches, his life goes off the rails , Zack is tormented with memories of being by his friend, Rael's side as he died in a road traffic accident and his mixed feelings for Rael's Widow , Tamara . Add into the mix the return of his no good father Norm who has resurfaced to try and make amends after deserting his children years ago and a health scare, what could have been a maudlin style read turned into a witty , funny and at times very moving read. The characters were easy to engage with and a 5 star read for me as a result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Need customer service? Click here