Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2011
I am reading all the Burracombe books in order. This is a slight diversion from the village tales and mainly focuses on characters from Maddy's past when she was evacuated and fostered during the war. She and her sister Stella receive an invitation to Rose Budd's wedding, the daughter of the family she lived with during this time. Maddy meets up with Sammy, their son and the relationship flourishes. Unfortunately tragedy looms and Maddy turns to the son of the Napiers, Stephen, who she has kept in touch with during his National Service in the RAF and whose family run an estate in Burracombe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
It was o.k. took you back to the beginning of the saga. The book was in quite good condition, and worth the cost.I have since bought the whole series, and look forward to each new story. I find the characters compelling. I liken it a little to the Archers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Another excellent book. I have read these books before as they are old friends but this is one I have not managed to read. This bridges the gap in the Burracombe series books 3 & 4. I have really enjoyed this book even though the storyline is very sad. Keep writing Lillian Harry your books are great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I bought a few books as they were cheaper than the second hand shop(including the postage and packaging) and also I could complete my collection of the Lilian Harry books I had not yet read. Easy light reading - give it a go!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
A Penny A Day
This is the 4th book in the Burracombe novels. Like the previous three, I loved this one. The period of the stories is brought very well to life by Lilian Harry. I'm looking forward to the next one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
Fans of Lillian Harry will know the characters and it is good to catch up with their latest exploits. Loved it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
Lillian Harry never fails to write a story that creates a lovely comfort zone you do not want to come out of
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
Love all Lilian Harry books this one is fantastic as it fits into the Burracombe series very well so you get to met some of the old charactors you have read in the other books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
I have never read any of this author's books before but just could not put this book down. It was so well written and the characters strong and edgy. Thoroughly good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
i enjoyed this book having read a lot of lillian harry books i was pleased to find a book that linked a lot of the characters together . it was like a having a reunion ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse