Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
29
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2008
*warning- contains spoilers*

...but what a disappointment at the end! Being a woman who never wants kids myself, this is of course a subject close to my heart. The first part of the book drew me in and I finished the book in about a day. The character spoke words that might have been my own thoughts. I was impressed, but then the end left me gutted as she doesn't come to any real conclusion of what to do ans she's pretty much back to square one. Perhaps the author is intending to write a sequel?
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
When I found out that the author of 'SOMETHING BORROWED' and 'SOMETHING BLUE', two books that I adored, was coming out with a new novel, needless to say I was very excited. I searched the internet for months trying to find information on this new book, however I must admit, when I found out that this book was not about Darcy or Rachel not only was I a bit disappointed but I was also skeptical. I was not sure that Giffin's third effort would have the same easy charm that her first two books did, fortunately 'BABY PROOF' lived up to the high standards previously set by Giffin's first novels!

When Claudia and Ben meet they have an instant connection. They are both hard working professionals who like a lot of the same things, such as great restaurants, living in the city, traveling and their freedom. Early on they both discover that neither of them want children which is a definite selling point for Claudia. Soon into their relationship they fall madly in love and decide to elope. On the surface it seems like Claudia and Ben have the perfect relationship until Ben reneges on their "deal" and decides that he wants a child after all.

Feeling betrayed Claudia decides that this is a deal breaker being that she never has and never will want children. But soon after they seperate Claudia winds up asking herself what do you do when you and the only person you will ever truly love want two very different things?

'BABY PROOF' has solidified Emily Giffin's prowess as a novelist and has definitely scored herself a position on my "must read" authors list!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
I am not sure if the other people reviewing this book read the same story as I did!! I thought it was FANTASTIC. I loved 'Something Borrowed' and 'Something Blue' and felt that this story and its characters were just as brilliant. The ending does not suggest the main character is back to square one at all - she learns a great deal about love and relationships throughout the story and the ending really reflects this. As usual with Giffin, you feel as if you are in the room with the characters and become totally absorbed. Its the kind of writing that you have to ration to yourself otherwise you would get nothing done all day. She also had a cheeky character overlap; introducing a character from a previous novel into this one which I LOVED. Absolutely brilliant, a perfect treat. Cant wait for her next one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
This is the story of Claudia and Ben, a couple who meet on the most perfect blind date. One of the attractions for Claudia is the fact that Ben does not want children - she has known since childhood that she does not want to have children, and therefore feels that it is meant to be. After a blissful few years of marriage, Ben confesses to wanting children. After discovering that they have no ability to compromise on this matter, Claudia issues an ultimatum of 'having children or having me'. Ben chooses the former.

Against the backdrop of this main storyline, we also meet Jess, Claudia's best friend, and Maura and Daphne, her two sisters. In each case Giffin deals sensitively with different aspects of children. The couple that desperately want children but find they're infertile. The couple who are staying together for the sake of their children. And the person who wonders about having a child in order to force a married man to make a commitment to her. I really enjoyed all of the background stories, and felt that these secondary characters were actually drawn more realistically than the two main characters.

My main complaint is that we actually see very little of Ben. Because the story is told from a first person perspective, during the split we stay very much with Claudia. We also cannot see Ben's thoughts, which means his extreme turnaround from wanting no children to suddenly wanting a family cannot be deciphered (although I guess we are then very much in Claudia's position!) Did he want children to start with and merely lied? Did it come along gradually? Was it seeing his best friend's become parents that convinced him he was ready? Because Ben was so one-dimensional it was hard to care about the fairytale ending.

And it was very much a fairytale ending! Not only do Ben and Claudia realise that they belong together, but Claudia believes that she will do anything to keep Ben - including having a child. This is not a complete turnaround, since she still isn't sure she wants a child, but she is most certainly compromising - something that she stated she could never do.

So, altogether more disappointing fare from the person who brought us two such excellent books as Something Borrowed and Something Blue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2007
`Baby Proof' is Emily Giffin's third book, and it definitely does not live up to the previously fabulous books she has written. It does offer some endearing and comical moments, but it is too long and does not have those fresh, inventive qualities her other books possessed, nor the observant and gifted writing with phenomenal character development we have come to know and love in Emily Giffin's books.

`Baby Proof' starts out with the main character, Claudia, happily married and facing a future with her wonderful hubby, Ben, who, like Claudia, has no desire to have children. As the book continues, however, Ben thinks he may want children after all, and thus begins the Ben/Claudia/children/no children conflict for most of the entire 340 pages. There are a few subplots as the story progresses involving Ben, her roommate and sisters; however, it seems these are just attempts by Giffin to fill the book with more pages, and as a result, these subplots don't really amount to much of anything. Initially, the book does draw you in, but as you go on, you find that the next chapter is just a reworked version of the previous chapter, and it seems to go on and on ad nauseam about how Claudia doesn't want children and her husband does and people don't get her, etc., etc. The creative writing devolves into hackneyed musings and commonplace observations, and it seems Giffin is using the same shtick over and over without much inventiveness or creativity. Although the initial concept of `Baby Proof' is very original, by the end of the first 150 pages, it had lost its originality and had become redundant.

Finally, as compared to her first two books, Something Borrowed and Something Blue, the writing in `Baby Proof' is overly descriptive, which added absolutely nothing to the story and only increased the length of the book. The characters in this novel seemed very, very flat in that they didn't have the usual "joie de vivre" or excitement emanating from them commonly attributed to characters in her other books. Emily Giffin is truly a very gifted writer, but `Baby Proof' seems to have been churned out as per a contract, or it was during a time when she had some serious writer's block. It does not live up to the standards of her other two books, which were so inventive and interesting you just couldn't put them down. If you've read the first two books, you could probably just stop with those and avoid coming away from this book very disappointed. Luckily, she's not done with writing, and you can keep your fingers crossed with the hope that her next book, 'Love the One You're With', (which comes out in 2008) is more like the first two.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2007
`Baby Proof' is Emily Giffin's third book, and it definitely does not live up to the previously fabulous books she has written. It does offer some endearing and comical moments, but it is too long and does not have those fresh, inventive qualities her other books possessed, nor the observant and gifted writing with phenomenal character development we have come to know and love in Emily Giffin's books.

`Baby Proof' starts out with the main character, Claudia, happily married and facing a future with her wonderful hubby, Ben, who, like Claudia, has no desire to have children. As the book continues, however, Ben thinks he may want children after all, and thus begins the Ben/Claudia/children/no children conflict for most of the entire 340 pages. There are a few subplots as the story progresses involving Ben, her roommate and sisters; however, it seems these are just attempts by Giffin to fill the book with more pages, and as a result, these subplots don't really amount to much of anything. Initially, the book does draw you in, but as you go on, you find that the next chapter is just a reworked version of the previous chapter, and it seems to go on and on ad nauseam about how Claudia doesn't want children and her husband does and people don't get her, etc., etc. The creative writing devolves into hackneyed musings and commonplace observations, and it seems Giffin is using the same shtick over and over without much inventiveness or creativity. Although the initial concept of `Baby Proof' is very original, by the end of the first 150 pages, it had lost its originality and had become redundant.

Finally, as compared to her first two books, Something Borrowed and Something Blue, the writing in `Baby Proof' is overly descriptive, which added absolutely nothing to the story and only increased the length of the book. The characters in this novel seemed very, very flat in that they didn't have the usual "joie de vivre" or excitement emanating from them commonly attributed to characters in her other books. Emily Giffin is truly a very gifted writer, but `Baby Proof' seems to have been churned out as per a contract, or it was during a time when she had some serious writer's block. It does not live up to the standards of her other two books, which were so inventive and interesting you just couldn't put them down. If you've read the first two books, you could probably just stop with those and avoid coming away from this book very disappointed. Luckily, she's not done with writing, and you can keep your fingers crossed with the hope that her next book, 'Love the One You're With', (which comes out in 2008) is more like the first two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
Similar to other reviewers I started this book with high hopes being in a similar situation myself - however I found the ending a significant disappointment with no real conclusion reached - at the risk of ruining the ending, they split up, and seem to be getting back together without actually having bottomed out the issue that split them up in the first place and the key theme to the book - children!!!!
I have not yet found a book that tackles this subject that to me gives it an adequately rounded view. Disappointing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
I really did enjoy this book, I thought the characters were realistic and easy to relate to. I would have preferred a less predictable ending though. Not to put anyone off, it is a good read, not too heavy and I think you'll find yourself caring about what happens to Jess as well as Claudia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
I've read quite a few Emily Giffin novels and she is one American author whose stories I actually like. This story follows Claudia and Ben, a couple who have decided they don't want children (Claudia in particular). However, Ben soon changes his mind and their marriage unravels. Claudia does make a very strong case for having a childless marriage and it follows her dilemma over what she really wants in life. A predictable ending (as it is a typical rom com), but very heartwarming and perfect for those rom com lovers! Another Emily Giffin success!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I only recently discovered Emily Giffin but she's a fantastic author. Baby Proof starts with girl and guy happily together and then poses the problem of what if one of you wants a baby and the other doesn't. Emily's gift is that her characters are so real. You totally follow and believe in their journey which keeps you hooked. She's so easy to read, you don't want to move until you've finished and found out where she takes it all because it's hard to guess! Would definitely recommend this as well as 'Something Borrowed' & 'Something Blue'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here