Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
168
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2007
A pleasant enough little story about The Sullivan family and in particular the youngest daughter. This was published especially for World Book Day and as such I think intended more for those amongst us that do not normally enjoy reading. How can that be not us you say! However we all know someone we would like to encourage to read, try this then!

This little book only 106 pages took me one afternoon session to read. It is one of the 'Quick Reads' publications.

The story is also a good introduction to the work of Maeve Binchy, though due to its length much shallower than her novels. I hope 'Quick Reads' will also work as an introduction to authors people may otherwise not try. Maybe also get people keen on reading!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was a disappointing read. I liked Nights of Rain & Stars, but this was just too shallow. I guess it may be hard to achieve the usual Maeve Binchy standard in such a short book, but everyone I lent the book too felt the same way.
11 comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
I have been an avid reader of Maeve Binchy for years and this is again a gripping story that takes you on a journey with the family involved, a brilliant piece of writing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
This book was a really good read,, as usual, from the late great, Maeve Binchy. The characters come to life and you really are in the story with them, and feel you know them. Enjoyed it from start to finish.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I love Maeve Binchy and would read the back of a cereal packet written by her! This is another delight allowing you to dip into the lives of people you would like to meet. If you are not already a Maeve fan this might be a good place to start although not as deep an exploration as her full length books it gives you a flavour of her writing and will, I suspect, make you join the millions of her worldwide fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 January 2014
Such a good book for anyone to read and great story as usual and as you would expect from a great writer, which sadly is no more. But her books live on and I have read all of them, as one does when you get hooked onto a great story writer. This book is no exception, it is lively, realistic and goof family life through struggles and highlights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Molly Sullivan said that the new baby was a little star. She was no trouble at all and she was always smiling, so she became known as Star. She just wanted everyone to be happy and her family to sort themselves out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I usually like Maeve Binchy and have read most of her books but I liked this book least of everything I have read of hers. It is a moralistic tale but is very simplistic, very black and white (unlike real-life). The heroine is Oona Sullivan, known to everyone as "Star". She was given the name because her mother thought she was a "little star". Her mother said how ss a baby she was no trouble at all and was always smiling. Even when she grew older she had a "ready smile and a good nature, and she did everything that she was asked to". So Star was very biddable, very compliant. She wanted everyone to be happy. This was a very worthy desire but unfortunately real life is not like that and Star was unwilling to accept that. She avoided confrontation and if a situation was difficult in any was, she buried her head in the sand and simply ignored it or avoided it. She never tackled problems head on, simply denied that they existed. Unfortunatly this meant that problems were never resolved, they were ignored until they became far more serious and far more difficult to solve. This then is the moral of the tale - the need to accept life as it is - good and bad and to deal with it, not hide from it. Star is forced to learn this the hard way.

As is often the case with Maeve Binchy, even the most complex problems (such as gambling addiction) are solved in the most simplistic of ways and this can become quite annoying. However, there is no denying that her books are always very readable and I did read this to the end and I still found enjoyment in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
As ever with this author the characters emerge from the page as real people having ordinary conversations in everyday settings. Except in this short novel, some of the events are out of the ordinary and point up people's character strengths and flaws in a way we have come to expect from Maeve Binchy. And of course, she does not disappoint here. She describes the daily interactions of her characters with extraordinary clarity. A good, short read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I have never read Maeve Binchy before but I did enjoy the story. I usually go for crime thrillers. It was good to take on a train journey and passed the time nicely. Keep it in your guest bedroom for visitors. There is another Maeve Binchy quick read called "Full House". I would recommend that story, especially if you have grown up family!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here