Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2017
This is a very well written tale but it makes little sense unless one has read the earlier stories in the series. Linked thematically to the old Dunblane school shooting it is fairly obvious from the outset how the tale is going to end (except for a gross cliffhanger epilogue). Then it is a good Scottish detective story with bits of Rebus and a few old friends. So not really what a fan would expect but well worth reading for its excellent prose and careful plotting.
But not really part of the Rebus saga, more a mobius than an enigma which is why I give it four not five stars.
Recommended for those really familiar with the earlier episodes of the protagonist and familiar with the opaque British firearms laws which are so helpful to criminals and biased against honest citizens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
I'ma late comer to Rebus, this is only the second book I have read but certainly enjoyed it. I didn't see the end coming, it was a good red herring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
Very little actually needs saying. Rankin, as ever, produces first class writing. Despite the increasing volume of output, he somehow manages to avoid repetition, be it of story line, plot or characters. I find myself waiting eagerly for the appearance of the next offering. I am addicted? - you bet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
Excellent story line ,with the usual twists and turns. Not that these are in any way predictable, which adds to the enjoyment of the story. Is there going to be a romance between these two unlikely characters, can't wait to find out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
Usually enjoy his books but this one was not engaging
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
Brilliant! Rebus is grouchy insubordinate and morose and I love him! Siobhan is fast becoming my favorite copper. Strong storylines with that input down ability bravo xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
As always, compelling read. An edgy sub-plot, brooding, dramatic backdrop and Rebus in the thick of things, tenacious and beleaguered. Thoroughly enjoyed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
excellent item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse