Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2017
Love Dave Allen & his humour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2006
Even if the author doesn't know when to use 'Dave and I' and when to use 'Dave and me' her editor should.

Apart from that the book was simply a collection of other people's anecdotes strung together with a few joining words. It wasn't really 'a' biography' let alone 'the' biography.

What's the story about his mother? Either it is possible to find out when she died, with a little bit of effort, or there is a mystery there that needed exploring.
33 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2005
Anyone concerned that this book has appeared rather too soon after Dave Allen`s death need not worry. It`s clear that Carolyn Soutar, and Dave Allen`s many friends, were anxious to pay tribute to this truly lovely man and make sure his memory is kept alive.
Carolyn Soutar worked as Dave Allen`s stage manager on his 1988 British tour. She makes it sound like the best job in the world, and her first-hand description of this amazingly unglitzy tour is, for me, the best part of the book. Allen toured the country with just "a girl and a car". Soutar was the girl. Completely unshowbizzy, Allen took her for Chinese meals after most of the shows, and always insisted on paying. Her main challenge seemed to be dealing with his dry-cleaning obsession - well, I guess all famous people have to have their "thing".
Dave Allen made up so many stories about his life that I wonder if even he knew what was true and what was not. However, a few events that have been presented as facts are over-turned here - apparently, he didn`t have an affair with Eartha Kitt, after all!
This is such a warm and endearing portrait that it makes the ending even sadder - especially since the actual cause of death was not published in any paper I saw. So be warned - you will cry. Maybe even sadder than that is the thought that this great man is likely to be forgotten. He didn`t allow his shows to be repeated while he was alive, and, it seems, this is likely to continue after his death. To be fair to the BBC, I guess this is why they have not produced a tribute to him. Reading extracts from his act makes you realise just how fantastic, intelligent and daring he was. Thank you to Carolyn Soutar for bringing that to everyone`s attention.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Not the most revealing biography perhaps but a friendly, loving portrait of Dave Allen. Interesting and amusing stories of touring with him, bits and pieces of the routines, nice photographs. I'm inclined to think that if you're looking for a warts and all psychological profile you can get it from watching him perform. Or you can just laugh until your sides ache.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2005
Soutar's work suffers from, for a biographer, fatal flaws: Very few actual facts, and nothing revelatory or incisive.
It's a genial enough piece of work but far too general. This can only be expected: Soutar worked with Allen for a comparatively short period (One short tour) and his family declined to contribute. (they felt it far too early for such a book).
The result is a reworking of what is already known and "stab in the dark" inaccuracies. (Her story of how he died is very touching but completely innaccurate)
Soutar is unable to bring her subject to life. But who could be surprised: relying upon distant memories of a brief association.
Allen was an intensley private man and Soutar, without any authorised substance, fails to offer anything more than is already in the public domain.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
This book was written by one of his tour managers so you know that it is written by someone who actually knew him. Thank you Carolyn for writing this book.

Dave Allen was a true comic genius who brought smiles and laughs to millions of people for over thirty years.

Many thanks!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Not even started it yet but it looks very interesting - I keep 'dipping in ' Just trying to sort myself out and once my head is in it I am sure it will not come out in a hurry - Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
very insightful book...actually a rather sad personality good read though. it is a pity it was not an autobiography, but then, after reading the book, quite understandable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Dave Allen was an absolute legend and I'm making my way through the books and DVD's. This man was timeless and I found the book really interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)