Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
73
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 28 May 2017
Good, solid Gardner here. A fast paced plot with a race against time to solve clues left by a kidnapper/killer to save a girl left in a remote, deadly wilderness. The killer baits the FBI by leaving a body, with cryptic clues on her to the second kidnapped girl, in the grounds of Quantico where Pierre Quincy's daughter, Kimberly, is a New Agent, in the middle of her training. Kimberly finds the body so feels honour bound to take leave of absence and find the second girl before time runs out. Add in a hunky southerner in the shape of Special Agent Mac McCormack, boiling hot, energy-sapping weather, bugs, snakes and a few interesting lessons on flora and fauna it kept me hooked, despite being a touch formulaic at times (in a good way.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
Omg ...... What a story ... Gripping to the end....already purchased the next one and eager to read it... Housework, forget it, writing my own book? Too busy reading Lisa Gardner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
I am an avid fan of Lisa Gardner's book, I have not read a bad one yet. Top notch writing each and every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
What a skill to be able to write such a gripping tale. And what a tale it is!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Thoroughly enjoying Lisa Gardner's books. Definitely has you guessing until the very end. Great read. Will buy the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Another great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Dry good, full of suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2005
This truly has to be one of the best books I have ever read, to use the old cliché I really couldn't put it down for a second!!! I have to admit I picked this book truly by chance as the title was bold and a clear statement of the books contents. The author Lisa Gardner is truly amazing at bringing you straight into the book, leaving no gory details out at the grime scenes.
The basic plot is about an intelligent psycho murderer who kidnaps women in 2s, killing one quickly but leaving the other to suffer. However the killer has been silent for 3 years, until a body is dumped on an FBI base to be discovered by Kimberly, a young trainee. There is so much more I want to write about the plot, but I can't stand the though of giving something away.
This book is gripping in its twists and turns, there's even a romantic relationship, which you just wish will workout, amid the killing.
A truly unmissable book, it's so much more than just murder. It's clever, chilling, sometimes down right scary, it's well worth reading!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2003
I was lucky enough to 'fall over' one of Lisa Gardners earlier books and have been hooked ever since.
This one is superb - she gets better every time.
If you haven't read any of her previous books; a few 'old' characters appear, but they are self explanatory and you will lose nothing from this plotline by meeting them for the first time.
As a rookie FBI agent Kimberley Quincy has a lot to live up to - her father being a legend in the service. From the moment she finds the first body and the very sexy Mac, the plot twists and turns at breakneck speed, the temperature rises and the race is on to find the killer.
The characterisation is superb and, in some places, I found myself holding my breath.
The FBI are used and in some parts abused in this book and I found it quite refreshing to have them dealt with other than as a knight on a white charger or inept busybodies.
Get rid of the children, send the partner out, have a bottle of wine - definitely put the light on, and enjoy a damn good read for someone whose books get better every time!
p.s. if you haven't read the Survivors Club (different set of characters) try it - it is excellent.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse