Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2016
When this story started off I felt it was slow and boring and not like previous Myron Bolitar stories. However about the half way stage it started to get interesting and only then did the boring part start to make sense. At the three quarter stage the twists started and it then became a page turner. There was also parts where the reader looks into himself and phrases like "What makes a real Dad" and family lies that remain hidden makes the reader realise that even fiction has an element of truth. Well written and full marks to the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
I am an avid Harlan Coben reader, and non of his books disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Enjoyed this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
I just love the Myron Bolitar books & this was as good as the first ones I read - Well written & a great read. Thanks Harlan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Preferred the earlier novels though - later ones more hung up on family issues/children but like the development with characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Very good story enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
First 6 pages missing bit of a joke
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Another excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2003
Harlon Coben, is for me, a recently-discovered writer and, after only one book, "Darkest Fear". This story gave me hours of delight as I allowed the outside world to be "put on hold" whilst I was led through a weave of unexpected twists and turns in this pacy thriller.
Myron Bolitar is charged with the search for an anonymous donor who has mysteriously disappeared; without this bone-marrow match, the life of a young boy is at stake. Events quickly develop into a cat-and-mouse game when a kidnapping takes place and Myron is caught up in an FBI investigation. Myron's plight in this story is made even more compelling by family links to the events as they unfold.
The book works well on two levels - one, the reader has the suspense and uncertainty of a twisty plot and two, the author puts the conflicts faced by Myron in the context of the emotional turmoil he is under due to the human relationships involved. The author has given a detailed delineation to create a believable character who is capable of carrying out a wide range of emotions and actions with credibility for the reader. There are also some excellent touches of humour in the book to add light relief to the more serious, twisty plot.
On starting the book I didn't realise that this is one of a series of Myron Bolitar stories, but it does work very well as a stand-alone novel. However, reading this story resulted in another visit on-line at Amazon to buy more of Harlan Coben's novels!
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse