Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 May 2017
A very moving book and also quite disturbing. My only criticism would be that the style of writing isn't fantastic however in some ways that does add to the appeal as it is as if it has been written by someone who is not a writer by profession and is telling their story in their own way.

I bought the first book on its own to see whether or not I would want to read on. I regret this as this is much better value for money and you get to find out what happened next. I suppose the dark inner side of us wants to know more...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
My heart goes out to this poor man for the way he was treated by someone who was supposed to be there for him and protect him!! Dont know how anyone could do that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2010
This book was recommended to me by a friend. She told me that it was a 'disturbing read' - she wasn't wrong. I found it difficult to comprehend how such abuse could go on for so long, with no-one stepping in to stop it. However, the book was compelling and I want to read the others in the trilogy to hopefully find that 'happy ending'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
A must read following first 2 books in trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
An amazing story. A book you can read many times over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2017
Absolute bargin !! Book was in fab condition can't wait to get started
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2005
This trilogy books are well worth the read and I read them all in a matter of a few days, it is best to read them in sequence, I was totally absorbed by them all and unable to put them down. Written from the eyes of the child, young person and young man, this individual illustrates his dispair, fear and how the abuse impacted on his life as he grew up. His struggle to develop meaningful relationships with his peers and how for many years he was misunderstood. It identifies how the authorities for many years initially failed to protect him and how his own mother had the power to convince others that he was bad (even though the school had concerns regarding his well being). It highlights the trauma and confusion of being passed from one foster home to another following his removal from the family home. His final book illustrates the amazing power his mother still endured over him and how he truely wanted her to love, accept him and be proud of him and his search for answers as to why it all happened. What an amazing strong person he is as he eventually was able to forgive the horrific abuse. Get them all and read them and thank you to Dave for your honesty and bringing the impact of child abuse to the forfront.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2016
Author: Dave Pelzer
Title: A Man Named Dave
Genre: Biography, Child Abuse, Tragic Life Stories, Nonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir. Health & Family and Lifestyle, Families and Parents, Social and Health Issues,

I bought this book along with a child called it and the lost boy.

To the lady, who gave her all to make me the man l am today, my lovely bride, my best friend, mrs Marsha Pelzer, you make me whole and will forever be my princess.

To my son, Stephen, I can never tell you how precious you are and how much you have changed my life for the better, everything I do, I do for you.

This book has 243 pages and 25 chapters in it.
I would tell people that you should step outside your comfort zone with books because it is good to add more authors and genres to your reading portfolio. Even if you do not read books like this.

I normally read books of this genre but l also stepped outside my comfort zone with authors and genres l am so glad l did because l have read so many great books and come across some great authors.

I highly recommend this book but l would tell people to read a child called it and the lost boy aswell so you know the full story not just half.

Synopsis: As a child, Dave Pelzer was horrifically abused by his mother, who considered him to be an 'it', not a child. But he survived and lived to tell his courageous story... Haunted by memories of his years bruised and cowering in his mother's basement, his life remained a struggle – but he was determined to make something of himself. Dave's dramatic reunion with his dying father and a shocking confrontation with his mother led to his ultimate calling: mentor to others struggling with personal hardship. From a difficult marriage to the birth of his son and an enduring friendship, Dave was finally able to break free from his past, to trust, to love and to live.

Review: I found this book really easy to get in to and harder to put down once l started reading it. I loved reading all of Dave's 3 books but I was sadden that any mother could do that to her child and she even said he had a mental illness to try get him locked up and tried to get his father to sign the papers and it was sad to read that Dave got a reunion with his father but he was on his death bed but Dave has done really well to survive and move on from the past and child abuse at the hands of the women that is suppose to love him not beat him nearly to death. Dave has one son Stephen and he was married to his son's mother sadly the marriage did not work but Dave is always there for his son. Thankfully he met a women he wanted to spend the rest of his live with and she helped him forget the past and his mother sounds like she wants to ruin his life no matter what and l do not know why she can not leave him alone to get on with his life after she nearly killed him. This book was a great read. Dave was finally forgetting the pain from his past and trying to make a life for himself, his wife and his son. Dave sounds like he is a great dad to his son. I can not put in to words how great this book is I would tell people to read it for themselves to know how great it really is and it is a must read and a must have on any bookshelf. I am so glad l read all 3 because this is a great story and l was very happy to read Dave survived the abuses and told the world about it in his books.

About The Author: An author best known for his 1995 memoir of childhood abuse, A child called it. At the age of 12, dave was removed from an abusive home and placed in a series of foster homes. In 1979, he joined the air force and later became an author of memoirs and self-improvement books. #1 New York times best seller list and #1 international best selling author recipient of the national Jefferson award in a word, Dave pelzer embodies esprit: spirit, humor & wit. As a child his resilience enabled him to overcome extreme life-threatening obstacles. As an adult, for over 25 years, Dave's inspirational work has encouraged countless organizations and millions of individuals to recommit their efforts and remain steadfast to their personal convictions. Dave has experienced a truly extraordinary life. He nearly died several times by the hands of his mentally disturbed alcoholic mother. Years later it was determined that Dave's case was identified as on of the most gruesome and extreme cases of child abuse in california's then history. Dave was determined to better himself – no matter what the odds. As a member of the armed forces, dave was hand-picked to midair refuel the highly secretive SR-71 blackbird and the F-117 steath fighter, which played a major role in operations just cause, desert shield and desert storm. While serving on active duty and maintaining a rigorous flight schedule, dave made time to give of himself. in 1990, dave was the recipient of the JC penny golden rule award, making him the california volunteer of the year.Some of Dave’s distinctive accomplishments have been recognized through a number of prestigious awards, as well as personal commendations from Presidents Reagan, Bush, Clinton and George W. Bush. In 1993, Dave was honored as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Americans. He joins a distinguished group including: John F. Kennedy, Anne Bancroft and Christopher Reeves. In 1994, Dave was the only American to be honored
as The Outstanding Young Person of the World! In 1996, he carried the coveted Centennial flame for the Olympic Games. Dave was paid tribute as the recipient of the 2005 National Jefferson Award. Other alumni of this award include Colin Powell, Sandra Day O’Connor and Bob Hope.Dave is the author of seven inspirational books. Dave’s latest book, Moving Forward deals with helping people take the lead in their lives. Dave’s first book, A Child Called “It”, was on the New York Times Best Sellers List for over 6 years and Dave’s books have been on the same Best Sellers List approaching 13 years combined. As an author Dave is the first to have four # 1 International Best Sellers and to have four books simultaneously on the New York Times Best Sellers List.Dave is a living testament of a self-made man, who as an optimist strongly exudes resilience, service to mankind, personal responsibility and faith in humanity. Dave’s unique and intriguing outlook on life, coupled with his “Robin Williams” like wit and sense of humor entertain and encourage all of us to truly commit to overcome any challenge, while living life to its fullest.For over two decades, Dave has dedicated his life helping others . . . to help themselves. While many make excuses and seem pessimistic, Dave carries the banner in a nation where opportunities are endless in what he calls “The Greatness of America”. And through his work, you will too.

About The Book: I really like the book cover and the colour of the cover.

Star Rating: Five Out Of Five Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2005
Dave Pelzer i'd never heard of him before i read this book. It was recommend to me by a friend and i couldn't put it down once i started reading it. Even though i felt some of the stuff in the book was a bit gross i had to find out what she - the mother did to him and how he survived. It is one of the most emotional books i have read.
The main part of the book is about how his life went from being a happy son to a child called "it" which lives in the garage in an army cot. He isnt given food but has to steal it from other school pupils. He thinks that his dad is his hero but all his dad does it treat him as part of the family and doesnt believe in what his mother is doing. Unfortunately his father left him. Dave soon gave up on everything until one day. When something very special happens but im not going to say what it is. This is my favourite part of the book as things get a bit better for dave. I find it the most emotional part of the whole book. The book then goes on to tell you about how he goes in to foster care and has alot of ups and downs along the way. The last part of the book is about how he goes on to become a pilot and very succesful in his adult life.
I felt really sorry for dave during this book and by the way its written you feel like you are with him growing up as the writing in the first part of the book is written asthough he is only 10 but the last part is written like he is 25. The book is written in such a great way you understand the pain he was put through and how he thinks in such situations.
I would recommend this book to older people of about 12+ as some of the parts may upset younger people or they may not understand it. This book its a brilliant read so go and buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)