Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
289
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2005
'Angel Flight' tells the next adventure of disgruntled LA cop Harry Bosch. A highly media exposed lawyer has been murdered and the police are the main suspect. The lawyer made his name by suing the LAPD and in doing so made a lot of enemies. Can Bosch and his two partners sort through the politics and lies to see what the truth is. With red herring's and misdirection everywhere it looks like this could be Bosch's hardest case to date.
Connelly has produced yet another great read in 'Angel Flight'. It does not do much to progress the characters but highlights why we like Bosch and his dogged everyman style. The book is fast paced and enjoyable throughout. The darkness may not appeal to some but I felt was necessary for the book to work.
One area in which I felt this book fell down was the wrapping up of the case - I will not go into details but it is becoming increasingly clear that Connelly needs to find a new way of finishing his stories.
Apart from this small gripe 'Angel Flight' is a great read and one for all crime fans.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 March 2009
The story opens as Detective Harry Bosch and his team are summoned to a double murder on the Angels Flight funicular railway. When it is discovered that one of the bodies belongs to prolific black civil rights lawyer Howard Elias who specialises in prosecuting cases of police brutality, the police are the main suspects and Harry understandably does not want to head the investigation. Things don't improve much when Internal Affairs are called in to help with the investigation and he's told he's going to be working with his old adversary John 'Sustain' Chastain.

With the murders happening when the LAPD was already tarnished by the trial of its Officers following the Rodney King beating the area becomes a political hotbed ready to explode at any moment

This is in my opinion one of the best of the Harry Bosch series so far. Taking place over 3 days, it's fast paced, action packed and with enough red-herrings to keep the reader on their toes and Connelly shows exceptional insight into the racial tension elements. For fans of the series there are characters from previous novels brought back into play.

After reading a couple of Michael Connellys stand-alone novels coming back to a Harry Bosch one is like meeting up with an old friend and you just know it's going to be good!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 1999
Once more we encounter the embittered detective Harry Bosch being given the impossible case to solve.
As in previous stories, the author writes plausible plots and believable narrative in a flowing prose style.
The outcome will surprise many readers, and yet at the same time will be chillingly familiar to readers of previous Bosch novels. Is Bosch really the winner? Does the LAPD come out of this looking bright and shiny? Or is it, once more, a triumph for the political sleaze-balls operating in the background?
Make up your own mind! I read this book in one (long) sitting, and found it entirely gripping and oh-so-believable.
From the perspective of an English reader, the political milieu in which Bosch operates seems almost impossible - but then we don't have huge numbers of guns running around our streets, either in criminal or legal hands. Connelly manages the seemingly impossible of merging hugely entertaining thriller with a sharp, precise and deeply insightful look at the sociological and political institutions of the city in which he lives.
Another winner!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
The politics that plague policing are exposed and examined in a story that will probably leave you as conflicted as the inhabitants of the LA in which the book is set.
If you are a fan of the series this is definitely worth a look.
The pacing however seems a little off heading into the final act and a few investigative breakthroughs do stretch the realms of plausibility ever so slightly.
If you are a fan of the series you will love it,if not, as a standalone novel, you are likely to be unsatisfied that some plot points aren't resolved within the scope of this one book.
The positive side of this being that you are likely to become hooked.
I would recommend that those unfamiliar with Bosch read the earlier novels first. A list can be found on Michael Connelly's website.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The fifth in the Harry Bosch portfolio and one of the best. Personally I made the mistake of not reading the fourth - TRUNK MUSIC - and quickly wished I had, because I now know that the previous book included some key events and character introductions that are barely glossed over in Angels Flight or merely taken for granted. So I do recommend that the books are read in chronological order.

Despite that, this novel is absolutely top-notch, mainly because it further develops the wonderfully well-drawn character that is Detective Harry Bosch - surely the best of his kind in contemporary crime fiction. Doubtless inspired by the iconic private investigator Philip Marlow by Raymond Chandler, Bosch is a man who the reader can intimately identify with and relate to, even if we don't have a crystal-clear image in our minds of his exact appearance. It doesn't matter though, because it's what a leading character thinks and does that hard-wires the reader into his persona, such that he appears in every paragraph of every chapter in the book and we are never tired of him. He's not what you might regard as an honourable white knight but he generally says, thinks and does the right thing and his assessments of people and events - often crime scenes and suspects - invariably turn out to be correct, even though we are fascinated as to how Harry will be proved right. And when he gets that feeling that something is wrong about a judgement from his peers or superiors, we know he'll be right about that too, although it's often too complex to guess why in advance. In this tale, a lawyer has been murdered on the Angels Flight train in Hollywood in the early hours of Saturday morning, and what follows is an almost minute-by-minute search for the killer spread over three days. And a lot happens in that short time! The plot is loosely based around one those memorable events in 1990s Los Angeles - the riots following the (white) police beating of (black) Rodney King, with passing reference to another landmark, the OJ Simpson murder trial. It's riveting from first page to last, and confirms what I already knew: that Michael Connelly is THE leading writer of crime fiction in the modern era. I'm off to read Trunk Music now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2005
This is the first of Michael Connelly book that I have read and I was pleased to find that it wasn't the same as so many other books of its type. There was just the right level of uspense and the characters were well balanced. However, the book did seem to tail off without fully wrapping up the story and I would have liked it to have gone on for longer. Despite this, it was still an excellent book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Gosh, what a story. This is definitely one of the best books I have read so far, the tension had me totally engrossed and I couldn't wait to get home from work just to read it again. Would really recommend. Now on to number 7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
Whether you are a follower of Bosch or not, you will be unable to put this book down and will find yourself reading well into the early hours.
A superb plot with twists and turns that will keep you guessing almost to the end. The characters are fulsome and well-rounded, utterly believable. There are shocks and sadness in a story that sounds all too real.
Full marks Michael Connolly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Police procedural thriller that has many twists and turns especially towards the end. My only criticism being that the action was a little laborious at times and proofreading not brilliant. First book I have read by this author and will certainly try others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
I haven't read one Michael Connelly book yet that I can write a bad review about - unlike Stephen King who has disappointed me a few times since his 'time-out'. Strong writing that I find difficult to put down when I know I should be getting some sleep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse