Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
A true sequal to the original movie. This great writer does a terrific job of drawing the reader in. An entertaining story from start to finish. One of the best novels in the predator universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2004
When first embarking upon this book i found it very similar to the film 'Predator 2'. Yet after some time i realised it may have similarities but is infact nothing alike. This story is much 'bigger', in every sense of the word. There is some nostalgia in parts due to the fact that one of the main protragonists of the story is the brother of 'dutch', who in the original 'predator' film managed to destroy a predator creature with great losses. At length i found some aspects predictable, and some not so, especially the climactic ending resulting in yet more shrouds of mystery surrounding the 'predators' reaccuring apprearences. And if you are expecting something similar to the steve perry series of books you will be greatly surprised! I thouroughly enjoyed this book and hope others follow suit and do so, also.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
Concrete Jungle is one of the longer Predator books, which means it takes a while to really get going, but that gives you the time to really get to know the characters and the town they live in (New York). The descriptive work is brilliant, being detailed but not bogging down the story. And when the action scenes do come, they're superb. The best bits are a fight in an old apartment block between the lead character, Schaefer, and one of the Predators, a night-fight between the two again in Central America, a huge shootout in a drug lord's mansion and the climax between the NYPD, army and the whole compliment of a Predator warship. The writer seems to really understand the Predators and how they act, which adds an extra element to the story. Plus, the way New York is described it really feels like you're there, like you can smell the steam from the storm drains, feel the patter of rain on your head and shoulders, and the quiet deliberate steps of the Predator hunting you. Maybe it isn't as good when compared to the original, but Concrete Jungle is more in the style of Predator 2, so if you like that, and I do, then this is the one for you. A great read and a great addition to the series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
What i like about this book is they tie it some what to the first film and explain why the predators are here to hunt which i thought made the predators more than brutes out to kill for the fun of it. i read this a while ago and can't remember if it explains what happened to dutch after the end of the first film as the books lead is his brother. All i can remember is there sat in a pub and dutch talks about what happened in the jungle. The ending is great, i wish thay made this into a film instead of the AvP films. Predator fan? This is a great way to start if your wanting to get the books and wish to carry on with the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Predator concrete jungle follows on the story from predator the film where dutch's brother shaefer is the main character. it was a good book and considering the age of the book it was also in quite good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2000
Concrete Jungle has everything - pace,power and a ready-made franchise. Set in New York City during a heatwave the book has more in common with Predator 2 rather than the original film, however the book is equally effective as a "stand alone" and so people that have never watched either film can easily pick up the threads of the story. All in all a welcome addition to the franchise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
I'm sure I have posted a review before... Anyway, this was a Predator book only, not an Alien vs Predator book. Nuff said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2000
This is the best book ever!! You must read it if you have or haven't seen the film. The book has a great story line and a wicked ending. READ IT!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Bought as a gift -seemed very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
good book for good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse