Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2003
I had to check the ISBN code twice because the price understates the quality and interest this book gives. Great colour pictures on every page between contents and index. Each page has a painting (no-- about four pages show sculptures) which progressively marks time starting at 15000bc and ending 1991 at the end of the book. Each page is also featuring a different artist each time. The accompanying text gives an account of the artist and then of his or her work of art shown. Location of paining is given in most cases. Book size 21cm x 29cm.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Beautifully produced book and excellent reference guide, detailing the majority of British artists. Page by page info on each artist (and also some designers), and many included here that are also less well known, along with incisive well researched text. Would make a great present or a handsome personal addition to your own book collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
This book covers a large number of artists - each page is devoted to one artist in chronological order from cave paintings to the 20th Century. A photograph of an example of the artist's work accompanies a short biography of 250 or so words. The text is informative and there's a very short glossary of artistic terms at the back. Most of the examples are of the best known works by the artist in question, although there are a few artists whose most famous works are not depicted (strange in a book claiming to be an Essential history of art). It's an ambitious book, but ultimately too ambitious to deliver anything more than a cursory glance at some artists. I was very disappointed by the quality of the print (I have an old edition, so it may have improved in later print runs).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
Fantastic value, we were very surprised by the volume and how informative this book was. History of Art is constantly in use by my art student daughter and often looked at by family and friends.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Book was 'used'. so quality not the best. A somewhat condensed "history" I think and my flip through did not impress. Still, the book is not for me, but for someone who I hope will appreciate it for light reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
great price and this is one of the reasons I chose this particular book, otherwise a good overview of art through the ages that visitors and family can browse through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
The book works as a brief overview but certainly not as comprehensive as Gardner's 'Art through the Ages'. Could do with more examples from each artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
A great overall review of the history of art for a novice who is interested in the various artists from 14th Century to almost the present day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
My mother found this book very helpful with her art course. Very informative with a wide range of different artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Excellent packaging , excellent quality as described and it arrived faster than I expected thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)