Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2015
Brilliant book! Re-visited many of the cars I can remember that were on the roads in my childhood. I particularly liked that there was coverage of those cars that had sales overlapping two decades i.e. from the late 1960s to early 1970s and late 1970s to early 1980s. Aside from car/models from this era, there are interesting sections about what it was like to be driving and owning cars in this period. For each car/model, aside from photos and background information, there are extracts of reviews made t the time by the motoring press. Made for an enjoyable read and reference book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
If you're not expecting anything in-depth, this little book will do nicely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Takes me back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Written by a clearly knowledgeable enthusiast this insightful little book captures the essence of 70s cars and motoring succinctly and accurately.
The author's objectivity demonstrates that, despite industrial unrest, political strife (and interference) and rubbish cars made in this decade, there were also many fine models, plus significant motoring advances and technological innovations.

British marques ruled at the start of the 70s but were in serious decline by the end, thanks in part to often superior foreign alternatives, which is one of the reasons so many people of my generation who grew up in the 70s, have such fond memories of now forgotten makes and models. Who can remember the Vauxhall Magnum 2.3 saloon (a fast Viva), the author can and so can this reviewer whose Grandad had one (they were QUICK, or seemed so to me at the time).
An informative, entertaining and nostalgic read, written by an author with no axe to grind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
My son bout me this book for Father's Day and I read it the next day, I absolutely LOVED this book, it brought back so many memories of the bangers I used to drive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
This is a wonderfully nostalgic book, highlighting the cars that debuted through the decade, featuring them in the chronological order they appeared. Each one gets two pages, with a write-up from Giles (technical details, background info and/or how they affected the design of future models), a “who loved it?” caption and a contemporary review (from Motor, Car or Autocar magazines). There are also plenty of photographs (some from ad catalogues), which are brilliant. Interspersed are mini-essays (Life On The Road, Keeping Your Car Going (including petrol stations of the era), Dream Machines, Car Culture and Into The 80s) that are entertaining and informative and, again, well illustrated. Good fun, well researched and warmly nostalgic, this was a great read and I’d highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
A fascinating read. Obviously there are omissions in a book of this size and it was rather short on detail, but it stirred the memory of a good time of life and interesting cars that were becoming more safety aware, although many were prone to the dreaded tin-worm from an early age. My first drives were in the 60s, so these 70s cars were coming out when I was doing 40,000 miles p/a in a Volvo 144 on Dartmoor and in South Devon. I remember the massive cut in traffic for a few days when (shock/horror) petrol went up to 50p/gallon. Book was smaller than I expected but good content.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
As a quick trip down memory lane this fits the bill perfectly. For people who want more detailed technical specs etc they should look elsewhere. For the money an excellent buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
great memories with this read - would suit people who enjoy the older days of motoring. good informative read with pictures to compliment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Very nice book, with short content on each car. Easy to read, not very complicated and not too detailed.
It is smaller in size than expected and I would love it to have more cars.
I wish this series to expand in 50's, 60's, 80's and 90's.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)