Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2014
Fantastic read about about true life dramas.
Very interesting and factual about how the mighty lived many centuries ago.
Great to put the facts and story behind local folklore and to be able to put stories of life times to the Artwork at Tavistock town hall.
I have for many years wondered who the gentry in the paintings were and what their importance to Tavistock was.
Great amount of research done to find so much heritage and history in one little book.
Fantastic read for anyone interested in history and the civil war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
While the book is ostensibly about unpicking the truth behind the ghostly legend of Mary Howard “Devon’s Demon Bride”, as a British civil wars buff I became much more interested once the story began to edge into the 1640s and the dirty dealings of her husband and Royalist commander Sir Richard Grenville. Nevertheless this is a great tale no matter which of these two characters takes your interest most. SPOILERS NEXT – in a nutshell the book’s conclusion is Mary isn’t, and wasn’t, a demon but Richard very much was a wretch….
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
This is the story of Mary Howard and how she probably didn't murder ALL of her four husbands...just some of them. I am a big fan of books that deliberately go out of their way to highlight people who don't get a lot written about them (do we NEED more books on Hitler or Henry VIII?).

Mary is a great story full of plague, scheming and lace. While the documentation on Mary can't sustain an entire book, all the back story, setting and other swirling affairs of England in the 17th century merely add to the body count and it's quite remarkable how many aristocrats seemed to have serious gambling and drinking problems- seriously, it seems to have been endemic.

Mary is even now alleged to be a ghost haunting the area of Tavistock in a spectral carriage and after reading this book you can see why this, initially obscure, aristocratic lady ended up finding a rather sinister niche in local history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Really interesting book, full of historical facts about the fascinating families that lived in Devon. I live in Plymouth and found the account of the war between the Royalist and Roundheads. Thumping good read......
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Read this after reading Daphne Du Maurier The King's General...... can recommend both. The book is well researched and written and was an amazing price. One for keeping
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Again Laura wraps the facts up so brilliantly you forget its history you are so involved with the characters a great read and again I bought a hard copy too
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
Not just for history buffs, this book will interest anyone who longs for a rollicking good story that is beautifully written, enthralling and whatsmore - true.

The detail in it is fantastic and rather than complicating things as it does in so many other books, adds to your understanding and enjoyment.

I had no ides the history of Plymouth was so interesting.

Beautifully drawn, rounded characters make you want to read on.

Would have loved to have seen the play version!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
This book is a cracking read. It is well researched by the author and very well written. It's full of the horrifying, true stories of Royalist v Roundhead battles and the real history of these bloody times of civil war, headless kings, fundamentalist catholics and puritanical ideals. I would recommend it wholeheartedly, for those who enjoy reading, about what really lurks in Englands sordid past.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
This is a book which has been extensively researched. It brings out the horror of the civil war and the incredible injustice of being a woman at a time when women had no rights once they married. It also exonerates a woman who is said to have killed her husbands when infact she was the victim. a must read account of a story that has been twisted to suit the mores of the time.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
I have not recieved this book,I did order it but somehow it went to cloud,and I do not use cloud it was not downloaded, you even reimbursed my payment, I would like to get this book, but as stated when I order books it goes to cloud, instead of my kindle keyboard version, can you tell me why this happens, thanks Chris
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)