Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2017
Very well researched ; but it needed an eagle-eye (like mine) to proof-read before publication. Naval is slightly different from navel !! And rope measurement is by its circumference, not "its width". But the drama and mystery were well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Very interesting book. I remember the loss of the Affray, I was 11 at the time. It's interesting to read about subsequent events which didn't seem to get much publicity at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
As someone knowing very little about the story of HMS Affray, this book was interesting reading. There’s a good amount of documentary evidence and questions raised (maps would have been helpful). The whole business is an unsettling one and actually had me up worrying about it. The conduct of government bodies, from the Admiralty, to the BBC, to the trustees of the fund, is shown to have been reprehensible to the point of cruelty. The helpful suggestion from the King is beyond belief. And how little general awareness there is of the Affray nowadays! As the author suggests, it’s amazing how things can be forgotten, especially when the powers that be want them to be.

The latter part of the book became frustrating. Things seem to fizzle out. This isn’t necessarily a criticism. There appear to be so many unanswered questions, loose ends, red herrings, incidental facts, that it’s difficult to know what to think. Without more to go on, what is there to say? I had the impression that the book, like the matter of what really happened to the Affray, and I suspect the author knows this, is unfinished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Alan Gallop has made an absolutely great job of this subject and I wish he would bring out a reprint later with all the responses he is bound to get from other people involved who would like to tell the story of their family's involvement with HM Submarine "Affray". The loss of every one of these men echoes down the years for those who were connected. My husband lost his half brother on board her and the name of Sub. Lt. Robin Preston RN, 21, is constantly remembered by his family. There was a plan for Robin and his friends to come to tea here at the family home on the Helford River, from Falmouth, when the Affray reached there. His family have a wealth of paperwork and memories, kept carefully through the last half century and more.
It is really impressive to read this careful and thorough book, we found it wonderfully accessible and even exciting - at last we can see the whole story presented in a truly interesting way. Thank you.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I have a particular interest in Submarines, as my late father worked, and served on them from HM Dockyard,during and after,the Second World War.
Excellent value book,and well written. All interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
A first class book about H.M.S AFFRAY after reading I think there was a bit of a cover up which is why official attempt has been made to find
why she was lost, could it be the M.O.D don't want us to know the truth about why seventy-five officers and ratings were lost. I feel sure that
there was a cover up by the authorities both by the Admiralty and the government of the day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Having served in various A Boats in the 60s while serving in the Royal Navy I found this account most interesting as many rumours where still circulating in regards to this tragic sinking.A first class read if you are aware of this event and wonder why she was never brought to the surface and the great loss to the families and a reminder of the risk that our submariners take.
Otherwise if you want a first class read about Naval history highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Interesting acount of a unique post war incident which looked at it from many angles and didnt descend into conspiracy theory etc. Respectful to those lost and affected by this incident
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
On the fateful day of 16 April 1951 the notice "subsmash"was issued as HMS Affray had not reported in.
It was 5 days before she was found many miles from her expected position and far cto late to rescue the 75 crew.
What chappened to the submarine? The general view wasetal fatigue to the snort mast to break with consequent flooding of the ship.
However cthe final chapter of this gripping story raises all the questions that should have been asked at the inquiry but were not and why no effort was made to raise the Affray.
A first class document and the author is to be congratulated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
As a submariner giving this book as a gift to another submariner it offers nostalgia, tragedy and disgust at how the next of kin were treated at the time, and over the years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse