Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2014
Of the four books I have read by Peter Higginbotham about workhouses, this is the most disappointing. It is, essentially, a directory. As a northerner, I was anticipating interesting information about workhouses across the north of England. What I received was a listing of workhouses, with a minimal of information about any particular institution. Early pages in the book repeat information in the other volumes, so was redundant knowledge to me, having read the other three books. With the information I have now about its content, I would not have purchased it. The author could have included this information as an appendix to his book,
"The Workhouse Encyclopedia". In short, the information given in"Workhouses of the North" does not merit a separate volume.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
A great background source on all the Poorhouses in the North of England.
Well illustrated and informative but not the greatest pageturner'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Another fantastic read, being from the north and that my G/ Grandmother brought up her family for years in a workhouse makes compelling reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
Life in the Victorian and Edwardian WorkhouseA fascinating written and photographic account of a forgotten period of our social history over the last hundred and fifty years. Excellent . Highl;y rcommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Very interesting to see that some of the building survive today, albeit for other uses. Although I had hoped that more of the workhouses around the eden valley would have been mentioned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
It is heartbreaking in places but, anyone who has had a relative in the workhouse should put it on their must read list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I am really enjoying this book, as i'm tracing my family tree and this is a great history of workhouses in the area i was born. Iv'e also had fun using google street view to look at some buildings that have survived
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book. I learnt a lot about the w
orkhouses. I also learnt about how those poor people where treated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
A very good book, an interesting part of history and very personal for me as I am moving into a former workhouse soon.
Prompt delivery and good packaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
Of use to family history researchers, and to be aware of what it was like to live in such a place.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)