Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2017
Bought this as a birthday present for a friend who has just started taking an interest in this subject. He absolutely loves the book and is always telling me it has all the reference information he needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
Any one with half an interest in prehistoric Flintwork must have this in their collection. Wether you are student or professional buy this and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
When you consider what an important subject, archaeologically, the study of prehistoric lithic technology is, it's amazing that there isn't another comparable handbook available. The reason, I suspect is that very few people have acquired such detailed knowledge of the subject from a practical point of view.

Chris Butler is a Member of the Institute of Field Archaeologists and a lecturer at the University of Sussex. He is an expert on flint implements, especially in South East England.

His book is a practical manual and the best I know for learning about and identifying flint tools. I unhesitatingly recommend it as the one book that everyone interested in studying or collecting stone age flint tools should have.

There are individual chapters on the human use of flint, tool types commonly encountered in the field, then chapters on the Palaeolithic, Mesolithic and Neolithic, detailing the flint tools and weapons characteristic of each. The Neolithic warrant three chapters.

There is also an important final chapter on analysing flint tools, which points out that many archaeologists are still sceptical about using flint as a dating tool. The merest scrap of pottery will be examined in minute detail and made the centre of excavation reports, while flint - which tends to survive very well - is given second place partly because of its abundance and hence its commonplace nature.

`It's only in recent years,' says Butler, `that the study of debitage and manufacturing technologies has meant that lithic specialists have been able to provide much more information. Other archaeologists have not yet caught onto this, and thus flintwork remains the poor relation.'

This book goes a long way to redress that imbalance and should be required reading for every archaeology student.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
A must read and study for any one involved in archaeology. This book was purchased and given to me as a present seven years ago, my copy is now very much worn. Such a brilliant guide, I use it all of the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
This is the most detailed, best illustrated, general - multi-period - book on prehistoric flints that I've read.
Recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
The definitive book on knapping. Great stuff, although it is still hard to see if some pieces have actually been worked on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Our course tutor recommended this book as still by far the best reference source for the subject, of prehistoric flintwork
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
Purchased as a gift and valued for the 2nd year archological student. I understand that it `does what it says on the tin'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Always a pleasure to read a well written and well reserch book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)