Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 June 2017
I love this book! Listened to it in one go, just amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2017
A very candid story from the heart.
A great reminder that money doesn't buy you love our happiness.......here's going Will does one day
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2017
Sorry but this is a dreadful book. Never really gets anywhere and just full of wittering on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2017
I really enjoyed this book, it's funny but also serious. It must be hard to write about yourself without feeling vulnerable and when your famous as people think that you should have nothing to worry about
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2012
Bought for someone else it looks just like a book should be how do you rate a book you would not read .Like all purchases I have made at Amazon the delivery was good .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2013
If you're interested in this book because of Will's Pop Idol days then you may be disappointed as I think there was only one small chapter dedicated to that time, however as a fan of Will's career i really enjoyed this book, Will's talks about his ongoing battle with depression.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2012
read your book will. it made me feel realy sad, You are fab and so talented and so special cheer up and be posative love you loads xxxxxx Janet XXXXX
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2012
This is a book that made me laugh out loud - but there were paragraphs that made me very sad inside. Perhaps I didn't cry, but being around the same age as Will Young's mother - (well maybe a couple of years older) - if nothing else, it made me want to put my arms around him and give him a hug.

Depression must be a devilish curse. Such a talented young man inhabiting a culture almost designed to destroy your self esteem. I believe Will Young is a survivor, and understanding his own problem does, I hope, make it easier to tackle.

I would like to think that he is proud of his book, proud of what he has achieved so far, and is convinced of his own innate skills. Well done YOU
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2013
I am a fan of Will Young. I know it isn't cool like being a fan of the Stones or Bob Dylan, but I can't help it. From when I first saw him on Pop Idol I knew that this was someone who interested me, someone with a fabulous voice, someone who was strong-willed and passionate, someone who was funny. And I have been a fan ever since.

Those first perceptions of Will were right, and this is shown throughout 'Funny Peculiar'.

However, there is much more to Will than this. 'Funny Peculiar' is an autobiography that is honest and insightful. From his public schooling to his appearances in the stage show of 'Caberet', Will's life and career is explored in an entertaining, dry-humoured way.

For me, the most interesting aspects of the book were when Will opened up his heart about his ongoing battle with depression. As someone who also suffers depression I could really relate to the candid descriptions of the dark days (weeks, months...).

Will also speaks in some depth about his sexuality, and the difficulties he felt as a teenager to admit to himself and friends and family that he was gay.

I would have loved to have read more about Will's time touring and recording, but can appreciate that 'Funny Peculiar' is perhaps more accessible to a wider spectrum of people for focusing primarily on emotions rather than Will's career.

And a quick final mention for the small line drawings-I found them entertaining and a few actually made me laugh out loud. Genius.

7.5/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2012
I chose to pay £10 more to get an Exclusive Signed Edition and what I received it's the book with Will Young signature in an adhesive post it rather than being signed in the same book! And Amazon has requested an additional £10 and rename it as Exclusive Signed Edition. Well I'm very familiar buying signed books and CDs and never found artist not signing the book or CD itself and raising the price that much for such disappointing way of signing a book!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)