Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
91
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2017
Generally a good read. Action takes place on foot beat in a run down area of Sheffield. Life is a bit harsher on the beat there and tales can be a bit depressing. This contrasts with the sunny dales of Yorkshire where stories on police operations in the Dales are recorded by Mike Pannett. Mike is based at a rural "nick" in Malton..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
This is one of the first books to be written by a retired British policeman. It gives some detail of what it was like in those days.
I found it ok but very much dated now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Great book fast delivery many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Gave a present, well received, feed back 'great'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Nice book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At first glance, you will probably reject this book in favour of something else. After all, there is no reason why you should think that the recollections of a policeman from Sheffield during the 1960's and 1970's should be of interest except, perhaps, for other policemen or maybe the people from Sheffield. If you do reject this book, however, you will be denying yourself an excellent and compelling read.

Like the author, I also left school at the age of 15 and I well recall the time when police constables had a beat which they patrolled faithfully - checking every door was secure along their own personal route (their beat). In those pre-radio and pre-mobile phone days, these `Bobbies' were required to meet at pre-determined times with fellow constables and their only means of attracting attention was their police-issue whistle. In each town would also be found a police box to which each `Copper' had a key and from where they could call the station. It was also in the 1960's that Dr Who first appeared and he chose that police box as the design for his Tardis...

Author and former Policeman Martyn Johnson has portrayed his life in uniform with great style. In short, this man can write and what he writes is funny, witty and yet, at the same time, often telling. None more so than his account of his first arrest and how he ended up helping that thief steal the coal which was so much needed by a young lady with no food, no heating and a small child.

At 6 feet one inch (1m 85cm), Johnson was a big lad and, having spent a short time as a Blacksmith before joining the force, he was also a strong lad. It says much for his own personal style of policing and of the values he placed on the local community and his own integrity that he was not rebuked by his sergeant over the coal, nor did he hide behind his uniform when a couple of local thugs needed an old-fashioned lesson meted out with honest fists.

Hard to put down, this book tells a story of one man's time in police uniform. Curiously, although recounted with supreme honesty and without deliberate embellishments or exaggeration, the humour shines through like a bright light. The work is, therefore, supremely entertaining as it brings to life that much-lamented time when we felt safe because the streets outside were patrolled by policemen who, not only cared, but also made it their duty to get to know everyone on `their' beat!

They say there is a good book in everyone - if only they were all as good as this.

NM
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
I had the pleasure of meeting Martyn at Parkgate in November He was signing books (What's Tha up to Na) my daughter bought it for me. It was a very good read, I just had to go and buy this one. I'v enjoyed going back in time, I was bought up in the midlands but it was so similar. Can't wait for his next book. Merry Xmas and a Happy new year to all God Bless. Joan Buttle (pretty little Lass)
I have recomended. They make good presants.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I love Martyn Johnson's writing. It's as if you have him sitting next to you reading these memoirs. They are written using local colloquialisms and very much aimed at retired or serving police officers. However, I gained much enjoyment from these stories, particularly the humorous ones - and I'm sure that there are characters in the book that we can all identify with. I am currently reading the sequel which is just as enjoyable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)