Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
48
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2017
I got the love for reading books from my daddy and this book is FANTASTIC. You can tell if a book is good if the acting in your head is good and this author IS very good. You can picture each character in your head and the sights and smells can be imagined too.This book is about Max and Vicky Hardcastle who recently moved to Ramsthwaite village in Yorkshire where they are living on an old tumble-down farm. I'm sorry this isn't much of a book review but! i'm only on the first couple of pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Max Hardcastle has written a wonderful account of a family making a vital decision to relocate their small city centre antique business and home into a Yorkshire Dale small holding. The detail of all the hard work involved, plus the endless eccentric characters with wonderful names like, Canary Mary, Mucky Marion and Farmer Ted are an absolute delight.
Not only do we get a secret insight into a Dales community but, it is written extremely well in very good English which alone, makes it a very special read.
I am now at the end of the third book in the series and the amusing anecdotes never fail to amuse throughout.

It would probably make a delightful TV mini series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
All very amusing and true to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Max Hardcastle writes in an easy laid back way that draws you into the "yarn" Will certainly be reading further books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
A good, enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I love these books, they make you feel part of the village and give you a warm feeling. Would like him to write many more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Quite a boring book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
A lovely read. An entertaining and amusing memoir of life in the Yorkshire Dales. Overflowing with eccentric Yorkshire folk. Reading it was a wonderful extension to my holiday to a beautiful part of the country... very atmospheric. I felt as if I was still there!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2011
I enjoyed the book so much. The story was so readable, often amusing and the different characters really came to life. I felt part of his family while they were trying to make their new home liveable and living in an old caravan. Hardcastle descriptions of the countryside and the villagers are brilliant. I hope his other books will soon be produced for the Kindle as well.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
Extremely good book. Very funny book interlaced with country tales. Very difficult to put down. I would thoroughly recommend this book. I shall look for more by this author.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse