Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
173
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2013
Outlaw is actually the first in a series of three books about Robin Odo,(Hood),Marie Anne,(Marian) and the outlaws of Sherwood Forest told from Alan Dales viiew as an old man.Having dropped on the middle book in the series,(The Kings Man) last summer I have been dying to get my hands on this book for months to see where it all started.
Alan Dale,now an old man in his 30's is putting his life with Robin and the rest to parcment and in this the first book explains how he goes from a simple young cut purse in Nottingham to being rescued by Robin Hood and becoming an Outlaw of Sherwood.Angus Donalds attention to detail puts you right in the thick of things,not the glorified Hollywood versions of Robin Hood and Middle England,but in the muddy,dirty,cruel and unjust world the people of Sherwood suffered under the Sherriff of Nottingham in every gory,blood tipped bodkin arrow or sword.This series and indeed this book is a must for anyone who is fond of that period in history,told in gripping detail.A must for all Robin Hood fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
What a wonderful swashbuckling read! Gruesome and nasty in places a brilliant story of battles song love and loyalty. Written at a frenetic pace, I found I read it at that pace too. Can't wait to get on to the next book in the series and yo follow the story of Alan Dale and Robin.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
One of the best stories surrounding Robin Hood yet. I look forward to rea ding further books on the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
a whole new take on robin hood, well written. right up there with Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Great start to a new slant on Robin Hood. This book has taken me in hook, line and sinker, and looking forward to the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Who doesnt love the story of Robin Hood and the era it is set in, an absent King, the evil brother ruling the land in his stead with an iron hand, the injustice of the Sheriff a man raising taxes and skimming money off for his own coffers. The Norman rulers subjugating the Saxon masses.
This story told through the eyes of Alan Dale and his adventures with joining the men of Sherwood Forest. I never like to go into detail of the story as it spoils it for everyone else. but it is a book I would recommend, and I am looking forward to the other books in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
not read it yet
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
I happened to pick up Outlaw by chance and I'm thoroughly grateful that I did. There are very few people in Britain that don't know the Robin Hood legend, and it seems everyone wants to tackle it lately with books cropping up all over the place and a new film on it's way. So, I wasn't sure what to expect from Outlaw - perhaps a jolly jaunt through the traditional myth.

What Angus Donald has actually done with his first book, is write a story which at it's heart is a coming of age tale. The reader follows the story of Alan, a young boy just beginning to approach manhood, who lives day to day on what he can snatch with his own two hands. It only takes one ill-fated instant for his entire life to take an entirely different turn, and Alan finds himself under the protection of Robin, the outlaw lord of Sherwood. As the story develops the reader is confronted with the same conflicting notions of Robin as Alan, a boy who is both in awe of a man who has already become a folk hero and horror at the violent brutality of a man who will shy at nothing to achieve his goal.

Donald handles the Hood myth with care, introducing all of the traditional characters respectfully but in a historically believable way. He conveys the hardships of life at the time, the political turmoil and the rarefied notions of nobility despite the day to day squalor of life.

All in all, an exciting and enjoyable read. Full of vicious battles, poignant moments and a well written historical setting. It's a good début and I think both the writing and the story will improve from here. I look forward to the next instalment.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
I have loved the legend of Robin Hood since I was 6. In this splendid historical thriller the author presents a new take on the famous outlaw-a cunning thief, a ruthless enemy who mutilates and executes informants and enemies
But he is not an evil man in my estimation, and does what he has to do to make sure he and his colony of outlaws survives and remains strong. He is loyal to his colony and his loved ones
Alan Dale is caught having stolen a pie and is likely to be tortured and hung. He escapes his fate and is accepted into Robin Hood's band.
He is sickened by Robin's torture of an informer but soon becomes toughened and is trained as both a warrior and a troubadour.
When the household and village he is training in is put to the torch and its inhabitants, men , women and children massacred, at the hands of the psychopathic Sheriff of Nottingham, Sir Ralph Murdac, he swears revenge.
Scenes of murder, torture and death in battle not for the feint hearted.Strongly raunchy sex scenes including Alan's loss of his virginity to a gorgeous young red headed prostitute.
Robin hood in this series is a pagan who hates the church He engages in pagan rights, that can be brutal (but no more so than the witch burnings and tortures by the church it needs to be said) His great love is for the noble woman Marie Ann
Great character development. Thrilling captures the sights , sounds and smells of 12th century England
Unforgettable characters include the Welsh rogue monk, Brother Tuck, the super strong hulking and fierce Little John, and the erotic and skilled Irish pagan priestess Bridget
One of the best Robin Hood novels out there without a doubt.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Read one through four and stopped when I saw that the series would be eight books. Soon, will read them all back to back. Well researched with colorful plots and characters. Written by someone born to the written word. There with Fraser, Biggins and Cornwell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse