Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
96
4.3 out of 5 stars
A Good Year
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 August 2017
Lovely escapist read. Ok, it's never going to be a GCSE text, but they can't all be. Mayle has a light touch which brings the south of France to life without becoming a worthy travelogue. It is what it is, pure entertainment and none the worse for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I've seen this film I don't know how many times. I've got the DVD, the CD of the soundtrack, and now the book. A lovely light hearted story that Peter Mayle is famous for, with descriptions of the beautiful French countryside, which is always an added bonus for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
I love the film, now I want to read the original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Lacked the depth, quality and credibility of earlier novels of his that I've read: all so samey and predictable. Most disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Loved the film so looking forward to the book. When it is wet and grey and you are feeling down, read this. Makes you want to move to Provence.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Absolutely enjoying it, though different from the Ridley Scott film which I saw before getting to the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
a first rate film in good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Love this book reminds me so much of France 30 years ago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2005
A book that will put you in a good mood. Well written and very entertaining. Gives you a feeling of vacation and peace that makes you want to continue on reading and disappear in his world close to Avignon.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2007
This story takes Max from an empty, self destructive life in London to the south of France and a lifestyle worth fighting for. We meet loads of interesting people on the way and discover loads about the wine trade.

I found A Good Year a great page turner. A simple, easy to follow plot, wonderful characters / caricatures, perfect length and best of all the marvellous sunshine.

I recommend this book to be read on a garden bench with a glass of crisp chilled white wine.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here