Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Champion
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 May 2017
Only recently discovered this author and now can't leave her books alone. Great stories written in an easy to read format. Never used to like historical novels but this author has changed my mind.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Very varied characters and very different story line. Brought historical era vividly to life, as this author always does, and from some unusual view points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Good quality product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
I started reading Elizabeth Chadwick this year when I was laid up with pneumonia . I think as a keen follower of history that her writing is superb. It showed in depth research and attention to detail and frankly I became addicted and have read all 22 of books to date. that she has written. Now waiting for the next one to come out!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
Set in the 12C, Alexander de Montroi, unwanted by his older half-brother, is placed in a monastery where he was abused by a monk. Alexander escapes the monastery and seeks his half brother Hervi who is a tourney knight in partnership with Arnaud de Cerizay and his wife Clemence and their daughter Monday. As Alexander is trained by his brother to be a tourney knight, he also earns the lifetime enmity of fellow tourney knight and all-around bad guy Eudo le Boucher. Eventually, Monday's mother dies in childbirth and her father is driven mad with grief and is killed by le Boucher, leaving Monday in the care of Hervi and Alexander. One night Monday and Alexander get a bit too tipsy and end up in bed together, leading Monday to leave the protection of the de Montroi brothers and seek employment with Lady Elise as a sempstress -- and finds herself pregnant. Hervi is injured and Alexander leaves him in care of monks (good ones) as he searches for Monday to no avail. The brothers fear she is lost to them forever.

John, Count of Mortaine, visits the castle where Monday resides and is smitten and makes her his mistress as Alexander, with no hope of finding Monday, takes service with William Marshal as a household knight. After several years, their paths cross and the rest of the story then revolves around extricating Monday from John's clutches along with those of Monday's well born grandfather - who now needs an heir and wishes to have Monday married to someone more suitable than Alexander - but Alexander must be put out of the way first.

This is one of Chadwick's earlier novels and while her attention to historical detail is outstanding as always, this book does have more of a romance feel to it, although I thoroughly enjoyed Alexander and Monday's love story. King John is delightfully evil as always as are the other baddies leading up to an exciting ending waiting to see if true love will win out in the end. While not her best novel, Chadwick's second best is head and heels above much of the rest in the genre, and as always the way she brings the medieval period to life with the smells, clothes, food and battles is just awesome. Four stars.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2006
I don't usually read this type of historical romance but Chadwick was recommended and this was my first try: the first 100 pages or so was a bit of a slog for me (hence the 3* rating) but once it got going I couldn't put the book down. I really liked Alexander and the way he grew up in the book and even got to like Hervi who irritated me at the beginning. I'm glad I perservered and am even ready to try another Chadwick!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
I am real fan of Elizabeth Chadwick's. Her novels are always believable and full of three dimensional characters who sweep you along with the stories.
The Champion is my Absolute favorite though. It is the story of Alexander and Monday, who meet on the jousting tourney fields of France. Their paths cross, they are torn apart by circumstance and when finally they meet again they are strangers, and have to rebuild their friendship despite Royal intervention and insidious family plotting.
This book thrilled me. Close your eyes and you will feel the cold damp air of the fields and the thundering vibrations of hooves, hear the shouts and whinneys from the lists and the moans of the fallen ones.
You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
I am real fan of Elizabeth Chadwick's. I always find I can completely immerse myself in most of her novels and you cannot help but be swept along with the characters.
The Champion is my Absolute favorite though. It is the story of Alexander
(note -Stefan?? shame on you people who review without actually reading the books just to increase your reveiwer status)
and Monday, who meet on the jousting tourney fields of France. Their adolescent love is doomed to fail, and finding herself pregnant and orphaned, Monday flees the Tourney life to try and regain some semblence of security. When finally they meet again, the adult Monday and Alexander are strangers, and have to rebuild their friendship despite Royal intervention and insidious family plotting.
This book thrilled me. Close your eyes and you will feel the cold damp air of the fields and the thundering vibrations of hooves, hear the shouts and whinneys from the lists and the moans of the fallen ones.
You won't be disappointed.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
i really enjoyed this story of love in the world of jousting. its not really a topic that comes about in books! usually the world surrounding Jousting tournements is rarely mentioned but this book focuses on the young Alexander and the daughter of his jousting partner Monday.

its a realyl interesting story and keeps you gripped throughout. i would quite happily read any sequals to this story should the author write it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 1999
I have seldom read a novel so fast: her storytelling pulls you forward, page on page. I love the fact that all the history is trustworthy, but never forced on you: I absorb the history through the story and the characters. This should have won the Romantic Novelists Award in the year it was short-listed, without doubt!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Love Knot
£9.99
The Winter Mantle
£9.99
Shields of Pride
£9.99
The Conquest
£9.99
The Wild Hunt
£8.07

Need customer service? Click here