Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2004
I am real fan of Elizabeth Chadwick's. Her novels are always believable and full of three dimensional characters who sweep you along with the stories.
The Champion is my Absolute favorite though. It is the story of Alexander and Monday, who meet on the jousting tourney fields of France. Their paths cross, they are torn apart by circumstance and when finally they meet again they are strangers, and have to rebuild their friendship despite Royal intervention and insidious family plotting.
This book thrilled me. Close your eyes and you will feel the cold damp air of the fields and the thundering vibrations of hooves, hear the shouts and whinneys from the lists and the moans of the fallen ones.
You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
I am real fan of Elizabeth Chadwick's. I always find I can completely immerse myself in most of her novels and you cannot help but be swept along with the characters.
The Champion is my Absolute favorite though. It is the story of Alexander
(note -Stefan?? shame on you people who review without actually reading the books just to increase your reveiwer status)
and Monday, who meet on the jousting tourney fields of France. Their adolescent love is doomed to fail, and finding herself pregnant and orphaned, Monday flees the Tourney life to try and regain some semblence of security. When finally they meet again, the adult Monday and Alexander are strangers, and have to rebuild their friendship despite Royal intervention and insidious family plotting.
This book thrilled me. Close your eyes and you will feel the cold damp air of the fields and the thundering vibrations of hooves, hear the shouts and whinneys from the lists and the moans of the fallen ones.
You won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2007
Set in the 12C, Alexander de Montroi, unwanted by his older half-brother, is placed in a monastery where he was abused by a monk. Alexander escapes the monastery and seeks his half brother Hervi who is a tourney knight in partnership with Arnaud de Cerizay and his wife Clemence and their daughter Monday. As Alexander is trained by his brother to be a tourney knight, he also earns the lifetime enmity of fellow tourney knight and all-around bad guy Eudo le Boucher. Eventually, Monday's mother dies in childbirth and her father is driven mad with grief and is killed by le Boucher, leaving Monday in the care of Hervi and Alexander. One night Monday and Alexander get a bit too tipsy and end up in bed together, leading Monday to leave the protection of the de Montroi brothers and seek employment with Lady Elise as a sempstress -- and finds herself pregnant. Hervi is injured and Alexander leaves him in care of monks (good ones) as he searches for Monday to no avail. The brothers fear she is lost to them forever.

John, Count of Mortaine, visits the castle where Monday resides and is smitten and makes her his mistress as Alexander, with no hope of finding Monday, takes service with William Marshal as a household knight. After several years, their paths cross and the rest of the story then revolves around extricating Monday from John's clutches along with those of Monday's well born grandfather - who now needs an heir and wishes to have Monday married to someone more suitable than Alexander - but Alexander must be put out of the way first.

This is one of Chadwick's earlier novels and while her attention to historical detail is outstanding as always, this book does have more of a romance feel to it, although I thoroughly enjoyed Alexander and Monday's love story. King John is delightfully evil as always as are the other baddies leading up to an exciting ending waiting to see if true love will win out in the end. While not her best novel, Chadwick's second best is head and heels above much of the rest in the genre, and as always the way she brings the medieval period to life with the smells, clothes, food and battles is just awesome. Four stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
3.5 stars rounded up to 4.

The story started off slow - the backdrop of the tourney circuit was interesting but got a bit monotonous for me, and what happened there was fairly predictable for the most part.

When the story did pick up though, there were certain developments that I did not expect (except for the happy ending obviously), and the changes of scenery kept it interesting.

The villains were completely evil through and through, yet there were reasons hinted at for them being this way. Some difficult subjects were tackled well (won't mention because spoilers), and the historical detail was immersive and just really interesting, as in all of Elizabeth Chadwick's novels. I was particularly fascinated by the descriptions of medieval birth control, and appreciated the author's note afterwards which expanded on this.

I have enjoyed all of Elizabeth Chadwick's novels so far, and while this isn't her best, it is still an excellent read and a cut way above most other medieval historical romances I've come across.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 1999
I have seldom read a novel so fast: her storytelling pulls you forward, page on page. I love the fact that all the history is trustworthy, but never forced on you: I absorb the history through the story and the characters. This should have won the Romantic Novelists Award in the year it was short-listed, without doubt!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I liked this book but didn't 'love it' the way I have loved most of the other Elizabeth Chadwick books. I think it was a little predictable and I could see what was going to happen even though it went off on a massive tangent to put you off the scent.
None-the-less very enjoyable and a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I know something about this period of history but not from the viewpoint of the tourney and the people who earned a living there. A gripping story and a peek into the difficult lifestyle from the pen of a good storyteller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
I cannot praise Elizabeth Chadwick enough, having read all her books, I have to say that her knowledge of history is second to none. Well written and great to learn about these people, her William Marshall books have prompted me to look more into his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Loved loved this book, as with other Elizabeth Chadwick books ( especially the ones on William Marshall a latter day film star) the characters in the book are wonderful, I'm now worried my next read will disappoint! If you like this era, Knights, jousts, and a love story then you will love this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
This is a great adventure from start to finish told with love and compassion, wonderful characters, by the time I had finished reading this book I felt involved with everyone and was terribly sad to say goodbye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£9.98
£9.98

Need customer service? Click here