Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 August 2007
What a lovely little book, the perfect accompaniment to a nice cup of tea! Find out what your work cup says about you; whether Wagon Wheels are smaller than they used to be; why fig rolls have a 'sense of mystery' and why shortbread is a biscuit with delusions of grandeur!

I particularly enjoyed Nicey's thought about the pink wafer and fully concur that it is the biscuit equivalent of 'The Singing Detective'. The only glaring omission, for me, was the toasted teacake.

A great 'gift book' that you can dip in and out of. Funny and engaging.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2007
If you like a good cup of tea with some biscuits, this is definately the book to read with it! It's a humourous book all about the leisurely art of having a cup of tea and describes some great biscuits in detail. You'll love this if you're a fan of the website of the same name and also if you enjoy knowing random things like how many Penguins are made each day. It's an enjoyable read and worth a look.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I love this book. The first part involving tea, is interesting enough. But the real stars are in the biscuit department, lovely to dunk in and out of. I borrowed it from the library and enjoyed it so much I've just ordered myself a copy.I never re-read books but this one is such a spirit lifter, I can't resist it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
i found nicey's website some time ago and always found it an entertaining and informative read. the site has developed of course to include a lot more biscuits than are covered in the book.
anyone who is interested in commercial biscuits and has wondered what has happened to abbey crunch and those big ones that looked like the buttons on my mums coat (no idea what they were called) would like this book.
since reading the book i must say i've looked more closely at any biscuits ive had especially the custard creams and the cows on the malted milk.
highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
This is very very silly and great fun - perfect to dip into and cheer yourself up (much like an actual nice cup of tea and a biscuit in fact). Nicey writes in an easy style of innocent classic British humour with a good dollop of nostalgia - especially strikes a chord for us baby boomers who remember brightly coloured Playbox biscuits (there never were enough pink ones!) My sister complained because I left the book on the bedside table in my guest bedroom and she was up half the night reading and giggling.....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
Hilarious but heartfelt book detailing the importance and varitey of tea and biscits.
Some that you've forgotten, from the distant days of your youth and some of the ever present staff-of-life favourites. It's a slick and funny read with some lovely moments of glowing nostalgia. A really great little gift for a friend or work collegue but, like me, you'll probably find you have to read it yourself before giving it to them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Anyone who likes a cup of tea and a biscuit will recognise the humour in this book. Love the section about office etiquette when it comes to making tea. The section on US immigration is spot on. Everything in this book is just what we do, when drinking tea. Good observations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
This was purchased as a present for my wife, who needs no excuse for a brew and to contemplate life as we know it. Therefore a book that describes the intimacies of tea drinking, and its companions of cake and biscuits, was spot on. OK the tone of the book may be old fashioned and a little bit 'middle England' but its amusing, easy to read tone is perfect for a relaxing browse. Enjoy tea and the book and don't take life so seriously.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
It's always good to know a bit about biscuits and with this book you can become an expert. What more could you ask for? I've already sent two copies out as presents. (To two different people. I'm not a fundamentalist.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
If you've ever wondered which product preempted the development of the classic McVitie's Hobnob, or whether a Bath Oliver is better than a Jacob's Cracker, this is the book for you.

Written in a very engaging style, Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down is a distillation of the biscuity wisdom stemming from the eponymous website. The authors, 'Nicey' and 'Wifey', offer a light-hearted take on their core subjects of biscuits, cakes, tea and -- well, a nice sit down. Along with the amusing suggestion for confectionery taxonomy, though, there's actually a fair bit of information contained within the book.

It's an entertaining read even if you're not a particular fan of biccies (although who, really, can claim that?) but Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down is an ideal gift for anyone who has ever wondered what, really the difference between cakes and biscuits might be. The advice on tea-making and how best to enjoy one's tea break is an added bonus.

What really convinced me of the book's merit, though, is that it doesn't approve of the dreaded pink wafer any more than I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)