Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Cloud Drive Photos DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 14 September 2004
Goleman's latest book is his best yet. It's considerably more compact and readable than the rather sprawling "Working With Emotional Intelligence", and his model of EI has now become more coherent.
The previous five 'competences' of emotional intelligence have now become four: Self-Awareness, Self-Management, Social Awareness, and Relationship Management. Motivation has been folded into Self-Management in the new model.
The book is particularly concerned with applying emotional intelligence to corporate leadership - a vital question as teams and organisations tend to take their emotional tone from their leaders.
It includes an inventory of six different leadership styles, from "Commanding" to "Visionary", with their different effects and ideas on when each is appropriate. It also includes Boyatzis' model for self-directed learning (a very useful coaching model), loads of advice for building emotional intelligence in teams and organisations, and what research actually has shown to work in goal setting. The writing style will be familiar to readers of Goleman's previous books - each element of the EI model is illustrated by stories from the business world and lashings of well-sourced scientific and psychological backup.
A welcome innovation is the inclusion of a few helpful "how-to" tips (on, for example, establishing your vision for the future and setting sustainable goals), which have been lacking in previous books.
How good is this book? Well, it finally convinced me to stump up two grand to become an accredited deliverer of the Goleman/Hay Group Emotional Competence Inventory - their 360 emotional intelligence assessment for leaders and key professionals - and I'm very glad I did.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2007
This is a very good book. It's uncannily like Primal Leadership. In fact, it's the same book. The publisher, inexplicably, given the power of the title 'Primal Leadership', called it 'The New Leaders' for the UK market. So, I'm only posting this to say don't mistakenly buy it twice under its different titles...
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2002
I've read other leadership books but this was the first one I've read based on EQ that also presented some scientific concepts behind leadership development. More detail on the "how to" for team and organisational level leadership would be great. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
If you want lead (you should not read a book about it) or understand those who lead this book can help you understand the Art of leadership. What makes a good leader and what are bad habits. One of those books that gives you insights although you may not always agree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2003
Have been looking for ideas about leaders and how they work. Some of Goleman's ideas are great, and also help understand how American bosses and leaders work based on those he examines. Another good book on American leaders and leadership is "Working with Americans" (Stewart-Allen, Denslow) which was very humourous and one I dipped in and out of often. An important subject and worth watching the Americans since their trends usually end up here in Europe at some point.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
I enjoyed the first 100 or so pages and liked the concept of resonance, however after that the book went downhill! Most of the examples are laboured at best and only partially relevant. Maybe a good editor could have trimmed many of the examples and tightened up both the relevance and the impact.

For many i was left with a "so what ..." feeling. Sadly not for me!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
This is quite a comprehensive and sizeable book. An easy read and packed with lots of case studies that can give you the 'aha' moments, rather than dry theory. Well worth the investment.

Scott
[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
Very good and easy read. Lots of good pointers for analysing and redirecting your personal skills to create the best and most productive environment through sensible leadership.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Gone are the days when" do as I say because I say so" was the way it worked, this skilfully presents an insight into the way forward for human kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Very interesting reading for anyone wanting to shake off the old style of management and become more in-tune with their colleagues in the work place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)