Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2001
Nick Leeson's account of the collapse of Barings is gripping reading. I couldn't put it down even though I knew most of the story, having read the newspaper coverage and Stephen Fay's book 'The Collapse of Barings'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A really interestingly written book, however I suggest to take it with a pinch of salt. It's Leeson's own account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Read this book when it was first published and had to buy again. Terrific read. Takes you right into the arena
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Good book, fully met my expectations. The quality of this second hand book was good and met all my expectations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Where ever the real truth lies, Leeson tells a good story and an interesting insight into life as a trader
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
The book was fantastic I thoroughly enjoyed it was amazed how easy it was to get into really deep water
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
I know i should have read the book first before watching the film but regardless, loved the read :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
There is plenty, I learnt from this book, in the very specific order of below:

1. Ways of justifying a behaviour which is obviously very non justifiable
2. How different the managerial culture can be when operating in two very different geographical and sociological locations
3. The chaos, can be created when these three variables fits perfectly in together:
V1. Being intelligent above average
V2. Being overconfident due to the awareness of variable 1,
V3. Being under pressure from outside to perform, because of universal awareness of V1 and V2
4. The fine line between trusting a colleague to do their job and actually checking if they are doing it, which is your job to do so.
5. Some interesting ideas of options and futures
6. How stock market used to operate in 90's.

A good reading experience!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
A good read and interesting insight into the City and how it all works - or doesn't in this case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
One of my favourite books, remember the actual events, a must read on your bucket list...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)