Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars

on 30 September 2017
Makes Engrossing Reading, so sad, but everybody should read it. It shows the futility & wastage of war.
Delivery & price very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Very interesting and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2002
This extra-ordinary book gives numerous details of the life, the letters and the poems of 66 soldier-poets that died somewhere on the Western Front. It is well written, has interesting details I never found anywhere else. The formule is excellent. The wellknown poets are here, but also many I have never heard about (and some of them are SO good). The book has 480 pages - it even has maps and tells you where the poets are buried. I only hope Anne Powell (the editor of this anthology) will write a sequel in the same way on the poets that came out alive of this nightmare. Sometimes I search for a poet and when he is not in the book I realise this is because he still lived on 11-11-1918. The only reason I give four stars instead of five is because that sequel is not added here already... Of all the collections of World War One poetry this is one the best. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
An interesting book revealng the many poets who were killed during WW1. The tragedy of that talent left on the battlefield.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
Really happy with the condition of this book considering the price and that it was second hand. Made a very good stocking filler for someone. I would recommend this book to those that are fanatical about the First World War. It provides an added perspective - personal stories of poets, along with samples of their poetry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
An excellent selection but one wishes some poets who survived had been included. The explanatory material to accompany the verses is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I am thoroughly enjoying reading this book and will find it useful in future for reference purposes. I am a great admirer of poetry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here