Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This isn't a academic text and there are gaps and limitations to the description, but that said, this is a comprehensive overview and taster of an important 17th century social phenomenon. We think we're very modern with our Starbucks, Costa and the like, but our ancestors had their coffee shop culture over 350 years ago. The cry of 'what news' and the intriguing that went on in these places was a very important part of life. The description of the stench, I won't say smell because like Brandon I dont think that would do it justice, that pervaded these establishments must have been horrendous. I really liked this, it was well worth the money, gave me some pointers towards other reading (always a bonus) and filled in a few gaps in my knowledge. Fitted in well with my reading of Susanna Gregory's Thomas Challoner series: i.e. Murder on High Holborn (Exploits of Thomas Chaloner) as some of principle action takes place in and around 17c coffee shops.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
The book was fine & it only cost me penny + shipping (cover price £4.99) but I had imagined it to be a trade size paperpack. It is not - it is about half the size & only 93 pages long, which makes it more a pamphlet than a book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
It was interesting and light reading. Not a heavy intellectual account of the coffee shop. Some interesting facts . Would be a useful book for a school project.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
This book disappeared as quickly as a bar of chocolate! I so looked forward to reading it. Lots of interesting facts and insights into how the City of London works today. Highly recommended
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
That's hardly a title you would expect. It is, however, easy to see the link between the development of the coffee shops and the expectation that we want to share our thoughts and interests with both friends and strangers. This is a short but comprehensive history book that is both interesting because of its factual content and relaxing because it is so easy to read and quick to finish. It is also a very interesting portrait of a society which was very different from our own in terms of comfort and amenities but that bore the familiar stamp of our contemporaries, giving high place to gossip, rumour and argument with limited reliable facts but it was also a place where very serious business was done and political ideas were developed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
found this book boring, ok I would guess if you're interested in facts and figures, personally I didn't enjoy it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Very interesting little book about the history of coffee shops, told I a very readable and informative way. Lots of historical points.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I couldn't stop reading this book. It paints a very clear picture of bygone days and people. I may return to this again sometime.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
I think the author meant to title this book as Life in an EIGHTEENTH CENTURY Coffee Shop. Pillock.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)