Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 February 2018
This book has been recommended by a lot of genealogists, so I decided to have a look for myself. I managed to buy it for a bargain price of £6.00, and it has more than paid for itself. I have used it as a reference book for five genealogy courses in the past year with excellent results. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a keen family historian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2007
Whilst echoing all the comments already made, this phenomenal tome is and is likely to always be the definitive reference. Despite the extensive movement towards Internet sources, this book has the insight into 'why' you move through certain classes of records whereas the (also essential) Internet guides tell you where these are.

Beyond that the illustration with examples from the authors research, the many examples of why you need to double check every assumption, and the wealth of ideas for gleaning more insight into the lives of ancestors are frankly astonishing, and it astounds me that one person could both know so much, find so much and still have time to update this masterpiece.

If you haven't bought it, you're not serious about family history.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
I borrowed this book from the library first as I was not sure it would provide me with any more information than other sources. I was wrong. Over a 3 month period it gave me a number of avenues to explore that I had not come across before. I've not fully done this yet but at least I have a good starting point.

At over 750 pages, excluding the appendices and bibliography, it's a large book and there is probably no way that I'm going to read it all. It is though a book that you can dip in and out of. Only gripe is that it is now over 5 years since it was last revised and may not be fully up to date on website and other information. An example of this is the book refers to the Family Records Centre which probably closed at about the time the 2nd edition was published. Only reason I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars. Did check with publisher but there are no plans, at present to issue a 3rd revised edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2014
The best book of its type ever written. However, though it is perhaps churlish to criticise such a great book in any way it should be pointed out that the book was written some years ago and genealogy (particularly on the Internet) is changing very rapidly, and this book cannot be up-to-date on every topic. Nevertheless, it is a must-have reference book for anybody who has reached intermediate standard as a genealogist and wishes to progress further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2014
Amazing - weighs about a ton and about 950pgs....if nothing else, will hold a table up and filled with information - excellent value for money and not surprising, written by a lawyer....not really had time to look through it but saw it as a have to have for family research and well pl with it....can recommend on that basis - squirrel 59 - Tues 2.12.14
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2014
Fantastic tome full of information. I am in awe of the author and the reference sources are incredibly comprehensive. However it is somewhat out of date and the access to information on the internet is referred to in passing but not to the extent that is needed in this new age of technology. It is interesting to see what is available online and then turn to the book to find out where else to search.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2016
Very good reference, and essential to everyone who is serious about their family history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2018
Excellent reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2016
Although this was a used item, all pages were in tack and the pages clean. This item was for a friend and she was pleased to receive it. An ex library book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2017
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)