Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2017
Great book, this is getting used for a class doing their ww2 project, and they've found it very useful and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
A good book but I was a little disappointed in that it only offered recipes for one meal a day. Neither breakfast or lunch recipes were included no surprise they were all so slim during that period.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
I love this recipe book. Apart from some really interesting background information on the war-time diet, the recipes are great! As well as reproducing many originals from the British diet of WW 2, others have been included with a modern twist. But they're all healthy, tasty and filling, and use lots of fresh produce. I'm looking forward to eating like my grandmother did when she was young - and having her amazing war-time figure as a result!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
The presentation of the material is beautifully done and attracted immediate attention from my teenage children. After reading about the rationale for wartime rationing and scientific basis for the way the rations were determined, they set about trying the recipes. The recipes work well and are filling and healthy. Grandparents who had been teenagers themselves during the war recognised and enjoyed the dishes.

This marvellous book gave my children an excellent set of recipes and a grounding in an important part of their grandparents' social history. If I had a criticism it would be that it could have contained more recipes.

For interest I compared the wartime diet with the current recommendations of the British Heart Foundation and found them to be remarkably similar, except that we currently advocate the use of olive oil for its monounsaturate properties. (Up until the 1960s, in England, most people used olive oil to soften ear wax as medicinal agent!) It is well worth reading and using this book.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2006
i was actually hoping for a diet plan based on wartime rations and portions,this is actually a little cookbook with factual info about food distributions. if you are looking for wartime recipes you are better off with the marguerite patten 3 book set called "the war time kitchen"
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
I found this book really interesting and would certainly recommend it to anyone who wishes to learn about how rationing worked. The actual diet is a very good idea, I think we should all be eating more genuine, homemade, healthy food and less junk and this book offers a good starting point as it shows you that you don't need exoctic ingredients to put good food on the table!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
This book is a very worthy timepiece depicting how we as a nation survived in past years on limited food supplies when there were food shortages i.e. in times of war and conflict. It is by the simple things in life i.e cooking a meal from what you have left in the fridge, larder or pantry and being able to turn these ingredients into a simple but appetising and nourishing meal, that is a skill all to often lost these days , in favour of more convenience foods like ready meals. A very good read and comes highly recommenced worthy of a 5 star rating, and is an important piece of our recent 20th century history of food.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This book is a revelation about how food was rationed during World War Two, also the recipes can be used today. I have made meals from it with great success. The way of eating was healthier than much of our processed diet today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
bought this out of being interested in cookery and so purchased a copy some really nice recipes in this book very pleased !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
I LIKE THE WAR TIME POSTERS,text was informative but the recipes included as updated versions seen very unlikely and not to match the sprite of the idea/title. for example had they included vegetables currently harvested at the same time from a uk vegetable plot even if not grown in 1940-45 period as alternative ingredients rather than some choosen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)