Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2014
Not particularly well written or presented, this guide to highway robbery seems a little cheap and cheerful. Despite appearances it does not focus on any one period but covers the history of robbery in general from the middle ages onwards. As a result it never really gets to grips with the subject. I'm sure there are better books on highway robbery out there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
This book should have been called "A brief history of robbery in England's streets and alleys through the ages", for half of the book tells about all the other forms of robbery in public places. In itself the book it well-written and informative. But a subject like this calls for either in-depth study and analysis, or for a popular-history, tongue-in-cheek approach. Clearly Mr. Brandon has chosen for the latter, but he is not really a writer a writer who knows how to make the most of a good story or anecdote. Mr. Brandon in my view is a bit too much of a serious historian to make this book really fun and entertaining. So what we end up with is a book full of stories that come across as a Morecambe and Wise-sketch as told by your headmaster. But for those who just want to know more on the subject in an easily digestible way, this is a good buy..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
Thoroughly enjoyable history of highway robbery from the time of Robin Hood onwards (a nice intro into the narrative,as the author analysis the stories surrounding possibly the most famous outlaw in the world). This is social history of the highest quality & explores the myths & realities of highway robbery & the people who perpetrated it.
The only reason this does not get 5 stars is that I enjoyed it so much, I found it was too short, I just wanted to read more.
Some very good background research, gives us a flavour of what society was like in each of the eras of highway robbery explored & how these shaped the people who took to the highways & byways to rob the unfortunate traveller.
Some surprising & lesser known facts & history are unearthed,as well as analysis of the most famous & well known of this breed of "romantic" criminal. A highly recommended read on the subject.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Interesting and well written brief account of the most motorious highwaymen, from Robin Hood to Dick Turpin with a selection of lesser known in-famous robbers. Very entertaining and discovered some quirky facts. I liked very much the last chapter with the list of places associated to highwaymen: made me want to go on a tour and visit them. An enjoyable read I would recommend to all lovers of history. Money well spent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
This is a fascinating little book that not only tells the stories of various highwaymen, both notorious and obscure, but also examines the social history of crime in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Chapters are devoted to the more famous figures such as Claude Duval, Jack Sheppard and Dick Turpin, but Brandon does his best to explode widely-held misconceptions and popular legends. The topic is perhaps a little vast considering the long time frame in which highwaymen can be said to have operated but the book is written in a lively and enjoyable style, and makes the subject matter highly engaging. Brandon seems more at ease discussing the history of crime, but the book as a whole is an interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
A facinating book even if you have just a passing interest in this subject. It is written in an easy, non taxing style and so makes good bed time reading. I also have a copy of 'Outlaws & Highwaymen' by Gillian Spraggs which is a very formidible book, written in a very adroit manner but almost a little too scientific and clinical in its manner with a little too much emphasis on the Robin Hood subject important though he undoubtedly is. 'Stand & Deliver' is much lighter although in parts it relys solely upon acecdote, it nevertheless makes a darn good read. If anyone can recall the TV series in the late seventies with Richard O Sullivan then one can see, whilst reading, that Richard Carpenter dug deep to come up with characters and story lines!. I therefore would reccommend this book to anyone as an entry level source of information. The Gillian Spraggs tome I would recommend if you intend to study for a PHD. Enough said.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This is an enjoyable well researched read about skulduggery along the highways and byways of England over the centuries. David Brandon fleshes out the wide variety of characters, dispensing with some old myths in the process. Composed of a series of stand alone(but chronologically linked)stories the book is particularly "reader friendly". Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
I loved this book. I am into Highwaymen and pirates and history so this was a must for me. I read this book within two days it was that good,it held my attention.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
I DONE IT DIICKRD YRAERS AGO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse