Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2009
Electrical Installation work by Brian Scaddan

Brian is a well respected writer of text books for students studying in the electrical industry, his latest book is ideal for students on the C&G 2330 level 2 & 3 and taking their NVQ.

The book is an ideal companion to other text books for the electrical student, the layout does not follow the 2330 units verbatim but contains information on all subjects that are covered in Level 2 &3.

There is a comprehensive contents list and a mapping page to see relationships to all level 2 & 3 Units.

The book starts with a very useful recap of the Units used in the maths and formula and a basic introduction to using the maths and transposition of formula.

The main body of the book goes a lot deeper than some of the text books that follow the unit structure of level 2 &3, which is ideal for students needing to develop a deeper understanding of the subject and has many worked examples to follow.

The way that the book is written and laid out is very pleasing to the eye and contains excellent pictures and graphics. The book contains useful questions to test knowledge and understanding.

The book is fully up to date with the IEE 17th edition wiring regulations and is written without using too much technical Jargon and explains each topic and subject extremely well.

I already recommend this book to all of my own students that want to develop a greater understanding of all electrical courses.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
The book is well presented for the C & G 2330 and 2356 syllabus but equally useful for other Electrical Installation Courses,it contains good illustrations in full colour, and this sixth edition is fully compliant with the 17th Edition Wiring regulations BS 7671, I especially like the Self Assessment questions and the Points to Note at the end of each Chapter, it a good reference for Project based work, and I would highly recommend this book for all Electrical Installation Trainees and Students.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Terrific value book. Presenting technical material in such an easy readable and visually attractive format. Once again I must stress, that the Scaddan portfolio should be in every electricians technical library.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
I agree with the other reviews this book is fantastic.I must stress am not an electrical engineer but needed a study reference to gain an insight into general wiring and electrical safety.This book for me is an exceptional quality in an adult text book.The introductory chapter covering the basic formula and maths required to grasp the principles in the book is truly inspired.I have recommended this to many colleagues and I recommend it to you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
The first Brian Scaddon book I picked up was the little one on domestic wiring. I found it fantastic. To have a large text book that covers both city and guilds level 2 and 3 and covers everything including the basics, (Where electricity comes from i.e. electrons etc.) this is an excellent buy. As it is a different format, it's easier to use as a reference guide than other text books. A good buy. This book may get rarer now as the level 2 and 3 is getting phased out but there is the new version for the 2357. Even if this is not the recommended book for college, get it. It will ALWAYS be useful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
I found this book very good for the electrical calculations side i.e. in oder to answer correctly the Self assessment questions you've got to make your own calculations: these are not shown on the answers, so really you've got to make an effort, especially if you're a bit rusty on Math but with all the examples given there is not problem and is a good thing for your own indipendent learning! After all is very supportive for the City and Guilds level 2 and 3 studies.
The book covers industrial electrical installations well but is slightly week on the Domestic side. Probably the Domestic Installation Work book of Scaddan would be best for this if you need an in depth knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This book is an aid that helped me no end great for electrical apprenticeship study and for practical reference well worth the small cost
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
A goog solid book which covers all the necessary areas required for student or practitioner.

Well done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Clear and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
As Expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)